Texas Introduces Bill to Increase Registration Fees

Legislation (H.B. 2316) has been introduced in the Texas Legislature to add an additional fee of $50 to the vehicle registration and renewal fees.  The extra $50 would be deposited into the Texas Mobility Fund.     

We Urge You to Contact Members of the Texas House Appropriations Committee (List Below) Immediately to Request Their Opposition to H.B. 2316

  • The Mobility Fund is a revolving fund used to finance the construction, reconstruction, acquisition and expansion of state highways, including costs of any necessary design and costs of acquisition of rights-of-way.  The Fund may also be used to provide payment of a portion of the costs of constructing and providing toll roads and other public transportation projects. 
     
  • H.B. 2316 would take effect on September 1, 2013 if the constitutional amendment proposed by the Legislature to allow the imposition of an additional motor vehicle registration fee is approved by the voters.
     
  • H.B. 2316 makes no special exception for antiques, custom vehicles or street rods that constitute a small portion of the vehicle fleet, are infrequently operated and deserving of lower registration fees. 

DON’T DELAY!  Please contact members of the Texas House Appropriations Committee immediately by phone or e-mail to request their opposition to H.B. 2316.

Please e-mail a copy of your letter to Steve McDonald at stevem@sema.org.  Also, please forward this Alert to your fellow car enthusiasts.  Urge them to join the SAN and help defend the hobby! Thank you for your assistance. 

Texas House Appropriations Committee

To e-mail all Committee members, copy and paste the email address block below:

jim.pitts@house.state.tx.us; sylvester.turner@house.state.tx.us; trent.ashby@house.state.tx.us; cecil.bell@house.state.tx.us; greg.bonnen@house.state.tx.us; stefani.carter@house.state.tx.us; myra.crownover@house.state.tx.us; drew.darby@house.state.tx.us; sarah.davis@house.state.tx.us; dawnna.dukes@house.state.tx.us; helen.giddings@house.state.tx.us; larry.gonzales@house.state.tx.us; donna.howard@house.state.tx.us; bryan.hughes@house.state.tx.us; susan.king@house.state.tx.us; oscar.longoria@house.state.tx.us; marisa.marquez@house.state.tx.us; ruth.mcclendon@house.state.tx.us; sergio.munoz@house.state.tx.us; rob.orr@house.state.tx.us; john.otto@house.state.tx.us; diane.patrick@house.state.tx.us; charles.perry@house.state.tx.us; four.price@house.state.tx.us; john.raney@house.state.tx.us; bennett.ratliff@house.state.tx.us; john.zerwas@house.state.tx.us

Representative Jim Pitts (Chair)
Phone: (512) 463-0516
 
Representative Sylvester Turner (Vice Chair)
Phone: (512) 463-0554
 
Representative Trent Ashby
Phone: (512) 463-0508
 
Representative Cecil Bell
Phone: (512) 463-0650
 
Representative Greg Bonnen
Phone: (512) 463-0729
 
Representative Stefani Carter
Phone: (512) 463-0454
 
Representative Myra Crownover
Phone: (512) 463-0582
 
Representative Drew Darby
Phone: (512) 463-0331
 
Representative Sarah Davis
Phone: (512) 463-0389
 
Representative Dawnna Dukes
Phone: (512) 463-0506
 
Representative Helen Giddings
Phone: (512) 463-0953
 
Representative Larry Gonzales
Phone: (512) 463-0670
 
Representative Donna Howard
Phone: (512) 463-0631
 
Representative Bryan Hughes
Phone: (512) 463-0271
 
Representative Susan King
Phone: (512) 463-0718
 
Representative Oscar Longoria
Phone: (512) 463-0645
 
Representative Marisa Márquez
Phone: (512) 463-0638
 
Representative Ruth Jones McClendon
Phone: (512) 463-0708
 
Representative Sergio Muñoz, Jr.
Phone: (512) 463-0704
 
Representative Rob Orr
Phone: (512) 463-0538
 
Representative John Otto
Phone: (512) 463-0570
 
Representative Diane Patrick
Phone: (512) 463-0624
 
Representative Charles Perry
Phone: (512) 463-0542
 
Representative Walter "Four" Price
Phone: (512) 463-0470
 
Representative John Raney
Phone: (512) 463-0698
 
Representative Bennett Ratliff
Phone: (512) 463-0468
 
Representative John Zerwas
Phone: (512) 463-0657
 

Back to Breaking News: 2013 Archives