Maine Introduces Bill to Reduce Excise Taxes for Motor Vehicles        

DON’T DELAY!  Please voice your Support for LD 26 immediately from the All Members of the Maine Joint Committee on Taxation by emailing now:

You may use the following point in your message:

  • LD 26 provides that for registration years beginning on or after January 1, 2018, the mill rates specified would be reduced as follows:
     
    1. For registration years beginning in 2018, the mill rates would be reduced by 10%
    2. For registration years beginning in 2019, the mill rates would be reduced by 20%
    3. For registration years beginning in 2020, the mill rates would be reduced by 30%
    4. For registration years beginning in 2021, the mill rates would be reduced by 40%
    5. For registration years beginning on or after January 1, 2022, the mill rates would be reduced by 50%.
     

Overview: Legislation (LD 26) was introduced to reduce motor vehicle excise tax mill rates by 10% each year beginning with the 2018 registration year until the rates reach half of the current rates in 2022 and subsequent years.  Under the law, an excise tax is levied for the privilege of operating a motor vehicle or camper trailer on the public ways. 


 
 
Senator Dana Dow                             
Dana.Dow@legislature.maine.gov
 
Senator Andre Cushing                                   
andre@andrecushing.com
 
Senator Justin Chenette                                  
Justin.Chenette@legislature.maine.gov
 
Representative Ryan Tipping                          
Ryan.Tipping@legislature.maine.gov
 
Representative Stephen Stanley                                 
Stephen.Stanley@legislature.maine.gov
 
Representative Janice Cooper                         
Janice.Cooper@legislature.maine.gov
 
Representative Gay Grant                              
Gay.Grant@legislature.maine.gov
 
Representative Joyce McCreight                                
Jay.McCreight@legislature.maine.gov
 
Representative Maureen Terry                                    
Maureen.Terry@legislature.maine.gov
 
Representative Gary Hilliard                          
Gary.Hilliard@legislature.maine.gov
 
Representative Bruce Bickford                                  
Bruce.Bickford@legislature.maine.gov
 
Representative Matthew Pouliot                                 
Matt.Pouliot@legislature.maine.gov
 
Representative Karleton Ward                                   
Karl.Ward@legislature.maine.gov    

ENTHUSIASTS UNITED TO ADVANCE AUTOMOTIVE FREEDOMS

The future of our prized cars and trucks is being threatened! Add your voice to our growing U.S. and Canadian forces united to advance our automotive freedoms. SAN members defend the hobby by responding to timely e-mail updates on vehicle-related legislation and regulations. No fees. No SPAM. No obligations. Great strength comes with great numbers. Can we count on you to help preserve the classics of today and tomorrow?

GET INVOLVED TODAY:
YouTube Videos
Latest Tweets
Facebook Posts