Wisconsin Bill to Ease Restrictions on Collector Cars and Historic Military Vehicles to be Considered by Full Assembly on Oct. 15

URGENT LEGISLATIVE ALERT (UPDATE)
 

Legislation (S.B. 110) to allow minor modifications to collector vehicles, exempt former military vehicles, historic military vehicles, and collector vehicles from importer certification label requirements, and expand rights for historic military vehicle owners will be considered by the full Wisconsin Assembly on Tuesday, October 15, 2013.  The bill has already been approved by the Wisconsin Senate.  If the bill is approved by the Assembly, it will be sent to Governor Scott Walker for his signature and enactment into law.

We Urge You to Contact All Members of the Wisconsin Assembly (Contact Info Below) Immediately to Request Support for S.B. 110

  • S.B.110 allows modifications to vehicles registered as collector vehicles, as long as the bodies of these vehicles are not modified.  Currently, upgrades like safety glass, radial tires, a radio or hubcaps are reasons to deny registration.  This bill will allow changes that retain the spirit of historic authenticity.
  • S.B. 110 exempts collector vehicles and all former military vehicles from the requirement that they meet Federal certification label requirements.
  • S.B. 110 gives owners of historic military vehicles similar rights as those currently enjoyed by collectors of other vehicles.  This allows owners to operate these vehicles for occasional personal use and to maintain inoperable, unregistered historic military vehicles on private property if they do not constitute a health hazard and are screened from ordinary public view.  Currently, use of these vehicles is limited to parades and car shows transporting them to and from necessary testing, maintenance, and storage.

DON’T DELAY!  Please contact all members of the Wisconsin Assembly to request support for S.B. 110.  Please e-mail a copy of your letters to Steve McDonald at stevem@sema.org.  Also, please forward this Alert to your fellow car enthusiasts.  Urge them to join the SAN and help defend the hobby! Thank you for your assistance.

Wisconsin Assembly

To e-mail all Assembly members, copy and paste the two email address blocks separately.  Sending two identical e-mail messages instead of one will help ensure that your message will not be filtered as spam.

BLOCK ONE

Rep.August@legis.wisconsin.gov; Rep.Ballweg@legis.wisconsin.gov; Rep.Barca@legis.wisconsin.gov; Rep.Barnes@legis.wisconsin.gov; Rep.Berceau@legis.wisconsin.gov; Rep.BernardSchaber@legis.wisconsin.gov; Rep.Bernier@legis.wisconsin.gov; Rep.Bewley@legis.wisconsin.gov; Rep.Bies@legis.wisconsin.gov; Rep.Billings@legis.wisconsin.gov; Rep.Born@legis.wisconsin.gov; Rep.Brooks@legis.wisconsin.gov; Rep.Clark@legis.wisconsin.gov; Rep.Craig@legis.wisconsin.gov; Rep.Czaja@legis.wisconsin.gov; Rep.Danou@legis.wisconsin.gov; Rep.Doyle@legis.wisconsin.gov; Rep.Endsley@legis.wisconsin.gov; Rep.Genrich@legis.wisconsin.gov; Rep.Goyke@legis.wisconsin.gov; Rep.Hebl@legis.wisconsin.gov; Rep.Hesselbein@legis.wisconsin.gov; Rep.Hintz@legis.wisconsin.gov; Rep.Hulsey@legis.wisconsin.gov; Rep.Hutton@legis.wisconsin.gov; Rep.Jacque@legis.wisconsin.gov; Rep.Jagler@legis.wisconsin.gov; Rep.Johnson@legis.wisconsin.gov; Rep.Jorgensen@legis.wisconsin.gov; Rep.Kahl@legis.wisconsin.gov; Rep.Kapenga@legis.wisconsin.gov; Rep.Kaufert@legis.wisconsin.gov; Rep.Kerkman@legis.wisconsin.gov; Rep.Kessler@legis.wisconsin.gov; Rep.Kestell@legis.wisconsin.gov; Rep.Kleefisch@legis.wisconsin.gov; Rep.Klenke@legis.wisconsin.gov; Rep.Knodl@legis.wisconsin.gov; Rep.Knudson@legis.wisconsin.gov; Rep.Kolste@legis.wisconsin.gov; Rep.Kooyenga@legis.wisconsin.gov; Rep.Kramer@legis.wisconsin.gov; Rep.Krug@legis.wisconsin.gov; Rep.Kuglitsch@legis.wisconsin.gov; Rep.Larson@legis.wisconsin.gov; Rep.LeMahieu@legis.wisconsin.gov; Rep.Loudenbeck@legis.wisconsin.gov; Rep.Marklein@legis.wisconsin.gov;

BLOCK TWO

Rep.Mason@legis.wisconsin.gov; Rep.Milroy@legis.wisconsin.gov; Rep.Murphy@legis.wisconsin.gov; Rep.Mursau@legis.wisconsin.gov; Rep.Murtha@legis.wisconsin.gov; Rep.Nass@legis.wisconsin.gov; Rep.Nerison@legis.wisconsin.gov; Rep.Neylon@legis.wi.gov; Rep.Nygren@legis.wisconsin.gov; Rep.Ohnstad@legis.wisconsin.gov; Rep.Ott@legis.wisconsin.gov; Rep.OttJ@legis.wisconsin.gov; Rep.Pasch@legis.wisconsin.gov; Rep.Petersen@legis.wisconsin.gov; Rep.Petryk@legis.wisconsin.gov; Rep.Pope@legis.wisconsin.gov; Rep.Pridemore@legis.wisconsin.gov; Rep.Richards@legis.wisconsin.gov; Rep.Riemer@legis.wisconsin.gov; Rep.Ringhand@legis.wisconsin.gov; Rep.Ripp@legis.wisconsin.gov; Rep.Sanfelippo@legis.wisconsin.gov; Rep.Sargent@legis.wisconsin.gov; Rep.Schraa@legis.wisconsin.gov; Rep.Severson@legis.wisconsin.gov; Rep.Shankland@legis.wisconsin.gov; Rep.Sinicki@legis.wisconsin.gov; Rep.Smith@legis.wisconsin.gov; Rep.Spiros@legis.wisconsin.gov; Rep.Steineke@legis.wisconsin.gov; Rep.Stone@legis.wisconsin.gov; Rep.Strachota@legis.wisconsin.gov; rep.stroebel@legis.wisconsin.gov; Rep.Swearingen@legis.wisconsin.gov; Rep.Tauchen@legis.wisconsin.gov; Rep.Taylor@legis.wisconsin.gov; Rep.Thiesfeldt@legis.wisconsin.gov; Rep.Tittl@legis.wisconsin.gov; Rep.Tranel@legis.wisconsin.gov; Rep.Vos@legis.wisconsin.gov; Rep.Vruwink@legis.wisconsin.gov; Rep.Wachs@legis.wisconsin.gov; Rep.Weatherston@legis.wisconsin.gov; Rep.Weininger@legis.wisconsin.gov; Rep.WilliamsM@legis.wisconsin.gov; Rep.Wright@legis.wisconsin.gov; Rep.Youngl@legis.wisconsin.gov; Rep.Zamarripa@legis.wisconsin.gov; Rep.Zepnick@legis.wisconsin.gov

 

Back to Breaking News: 2013 Archives