West Virginia Resolution Urges EPA to Revoke E15 Program

URGENT LEGISLATIVE ALERT


West Virginia Delegate Gary Howell (Gary.Howell@WVHouse.gov) has introduced a concurrent resolution (HCR 32) urging the Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) to revoke its decision to allow the sale of gasoline with fifteen percent ethanol (E15) until there is clear and convincing scientific evidence that El5 does not pose a risk to any gasoline-powered vehicle or equipment.

We Urge You to Contact Members of the West Virginia House Rules Committee (List Below) Immediately to Request Support for HCR 32

  • HCR 32 recognizes that ethanol increases water formation which can then create formic acid and corrode metals, plastics and rubber, especially over a period of time when the vehicle is not used.  Current high performance specialty parts along with the pre-2001 cars and parts may be most susceptible to corrosion.
     
  • HCR 32 estimates that there are 74 million pre-2001 motor vehicles in the marketplace that may be mis-fueled with E15.  Approximately 517,000 motor vehicles currently in West Virginia are from the pre-2001 era.
     
  • HCR 32 warns that the life span of these vehicles and equipment can be dramatically reduced with the wrong fuel and the owners could be confronted with break downs. Anti-corrosion additives are available for each purchase of gasoline but can become expensive, burdensome and require consumer education.

DON’T DELAY!  Please contact the West Virginia House Rules Committee members to request support for HCR 32.  Please e-mail a copy of your letter to Steve McDonald at stevem@sema.org.  Also, please forward this Alert to your fellow car enthusiasts.  Urge them to join the SAN and help defend the hobby! Thank you for your assistance. 

West Virginia House Rules Committee

To e-mail all Rules Committee members, copy and paste the email address block below:

speaker.thompson@frontier.com; brent.boggs@wvhouse.gov; mike.caputo@wvhouse.gov; charlene.marshall@wvhouse.gov; tim.miley@wvhouse.gov; delegatejim@aol.com; brady.paxton@wvhouse.gov; mary.poling@wvhouse.gov; rswartzmiller@gmail.com; hkwhite@wvhouse.gov; bill.anderson@wvhouse.gov; armstead@wvhouse.gov; bob.ashley@wvhouse.gov; daryl.cowles@wvhouse.gov; patrick.lane@wvhouse.gov; john@overington.com; kelli.sobonya@wvhouse.gov; linda.sumner@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Rick Thompson (Chair)
Phone: (304) 340-3210
 
Delegate Brent Boggs
Phone: (304) 340-3220
 
Delegate Mike Caputo
Phone: (304) 340-3249
 
Delegate Charlene Marshall
Phone: (304) 340-3900
 
Delegate Tim Miley
Phone: (304) 340-3252
 
Delegate Joe Morgan
Phone: (304) 340-3192
 
Delegate Brady Paxton
Phone: (304) 340-3146
 
Delegate Mary Poling
Phone: (304) 340-3265
 
Delegate Randy Swartzmiller
Phone: (304) 340-3138
 
Delegate Harry Keith White
Phone: (304) 340-3230
 
Delegate Bill Anderson
Phone: (304) 340-3168
 
Delegate Tim Armstead
Phone: (304) 340-3240
 
Delegate Bob Ashley
Phone: (304) 340-3185
 
Delegate Daryl Cowles
Phone: (304) 340-3177
 
Delegate Patrick Lane
Phone: (304) 340-3275
 
Delegate John Overington
Phone: (304) 340-3148
 
Delegate Kelli Sobonya
Phone: (304) 340-3175
 
Delegate Linda Sumner
Phone: (304) 340-3180

Back to Breaking News: 2013 Archives