West Virginia Reintroduces Bill to Exempt Antique Motor Vehicles From Taxes and Fees

A bill (H.B. 2443) has been reintroduced in the West Virginia State Legislature to provide owners of antique motor vehicles with an exemption from taxation and fees.  The bill is pending in the House Roads and Transportation Committee for consideration.        

We Urge You to Contact the Roads and Transportation Committee Members (List Attached) Immediately To Request Their Support for H.B. 2443

  • West Virginia law defines an "Antique motor vehicle" to mean any motor vehicle which is more than twenty-five years old and is owned solely as a collector's item.
     
  • H.B. 2443 exempts antique vehicle owners from sales tax and all other taxes and fees.  Under the bill, certificates of title and other required permits would be granted free of charge.

DON’T DELAY!  Please contact members of the West Virginia House Roads and Transportation Committee immediately to request their support of H.B. 2443. 

Please e-mail a copy of your letter to Steve McDonald at stevem@sema.org.  Also, please forward this Alert to your fellow car enthusiasts.  Urge them to join the SAN and help defend the hobby! Thank you for your assistance. 

West Virginia House Roads and Transportation Committee

To e-mail all Committee members, copy and paste the email address block below:

margaret.staggers@wvhouse.gov; linda.phillips@wvhouse.gov; daryl.cowles@wvhouse.gov; marty.gearheart@wvhouse.gov; anthony.barill@wvhouse.gov; brent.boggs@wvhouse.gov; linda.longstreth@wvhouse.gov; dana.lynch@wvhouse.gov; justin.marcum@wvhouse.gov; dan.poling@wvhouse.gov; doug.skaff@wvhouse.gov; peggydonaldsonsmith@wvhouse.gov; delegatestephens@comcast.net; josh.stowers@wvhouse.gov; david.walker@wvhouse.gov; danny.wells@wvhouse.gov; george.ambler@wvhouse.gov; jim.butler@wvhouse.gov; scott.cadle@wvhouse.gov; joe.ellington@wvhouse.gov; paul.espinosa@wvhouse.gov; david.evans@wvhouse.gov; danny.hamrick@wvhouse.gov; gary.howell@wvhouse.gov; john.shott@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Margaret Anne Staggers (Chair)
Phone: (304) 340-3197
 
Delegate Linda Phillips (Vice Chair)
Phone: (304) 340-3163
 
Delegate Daryl Cowles
Phone: (304) 340-3177
 
Delegate Marty Gearheart
Phone: (304) 340-3179
 
Delegate Anthony Barill
Phone: (304) 340-3173
 
Delegate Brent Boggs
Phone: (304) 340-3220
 
Delegate Linda Longstreth
Phone: (304) 340-3124
 
Delegate Dana Lynch
Phone: (304) 340-3916
 
Delegate Justin Marcum
Phone: (304) 340-3126
 
Delegate Daniel Poling
Phone: (304) 340-3137
 
Delegate Doug Skaff
Phone: (304) 340-3362
 
Delegate Margaret Smith
Phone: (304) 340-3123
 
Delegate Dale Stephens
Phone: (304) 340-3395
 
Delegate Josh Stowers
Phone: (304) 340-3337
 
Delegate David Walker
Phone: (304) 340-3135
 
Delegate Danny Wells
Phone: (304) 340-3287
 
Delegate George Ambler
Phone: (304) 340-3129
 
Delegate Jim Butler
Phone: (304) 340-3199
 
Delegate Scott Cadle
Phone: (304) 340-3118
 
Delegate Joe Ellington
Phone: (304) 340-3172
 
Delegate Paul Espinosa
Phone: (304) 340-3130
 
Delegate David Evans
Phone: (304) 340-3151
 
Delegate Danny Hamrick
Phone: (304) 340-3141
 
Delegate Gary Howell
Phone: (304) 340-3191
 
Delegate John Shott
Phone: (304) 340-3187

Back to Breaking News: 2014 Archives