West Virginia Introduces Bill to Exempt Older Vehicles From Property Tax

Legislation has been introduced in West Virginia (S.B. 49) to exempt motor vehicles, including automobiles, motorcycles, airplanes, trucks and tractors, that are older than twenty-five years from personal property taxes. Under the bill, these automobiles and motorcycles would need to display valid current antique licenses and could not be used for daily transportation.

We Urge You to Contact Senate Transportation and Infrastructure Committee Members (List Attached) Immediately to Request Their Support for S.B. 49

  • Under West Virginia law, an "Antique motor vehicle" means any motor vehicle which is more than twenty-five years old and is owned solely as a collector's item. "Antique motorcycle" means any motorcycle which is more than twenty-five years old and is owned solely as a collector's item.
     
  • S.B. 49 recognizes the fact that existing antique motor vehicles constitute a small portion of the vehicle fleet and are well-maintained, infrequently operated hobby cars and deserving of property tax benefits. 

DON’T DELAY!  Please contact members of the West Virginia Senate Transportation and Infrastructure Committee immediately by phone or e-mail to request their support for S.B. 49.  

Please e-mail a copy of your letter to Steve McDonald at stevem@sema.org.  Also, please forward this Alert to your fellow car enthusiasts.  Urge them to join the SAN and help defend the hobby! Thank you for your assistance. 

West Virginia Senate Transportation and Infrastructure Committee

bob.beach@wvsenate.gov; art.kirkendoll@wvsenate.gov; douglas.facemire@wvsenate.gov; rocky@fitzsimmonsfirm.com; brooks.mccabe@wvsenate.gov; robert.plymale@wvsenate.gov; bob.williams@wvsenate.gov; clark.barnes@wvsenate.gov; bill.cole@wvsenate.gov

Senator Robert Beach (Chair)
Phone: (304) 357-7919
 
Senator Art Kirkendoll (Vice Chair)
Phone: (304) 357-7857
 
Senator Douglas Facemire
Phone: (304) 357-7845
 
Senator Rocky Fitzsimmons
Phone: (304) 357-7918
 
Senator Brooks McCabe
Phone: (304) 357-7990
 
Senator Robert Plymale
Phone: (304) 357-7937
 
Senator Bob Williams
Phone: (304) 357-7995
 
Senator Clark Barnes
Phone: (304) 357-7973
 
Senator Bill Cole
Phone: (304) 357-7843
Email: bill.cole@wvsenate.gov
 

Back to Breaking News: 2013 Archives