West Virginia Bill Raises Limit on Property Taxes Paid on Antique Classic Motor Vehicles

A bill (H.B. 2812) to increase property taxes paid by owners of antique motor vehicles was introduced in the West Virginia legislature.  Under the bill, each of these cars would have an assessed value of $5,000 for purposes of the tax regardless of their actual value.  The actual maximum tax paid would be $150.   This bill now only benefits antique vehicle owners whose cars are worth more than $5,000.  It would penalizeantique vehicle owners whose cars are worth less than $5,000.  The bill will be considered by the House Roads and Transportation Committee on Wednesday, March 13, 2013.

We Urge You to Contact All Members of the House Roads and Transportation Committee (Contact Info Below) Immediately To Voice Your Opinion on H.B. 2812

  • West Virginia law defines an "Antique motor vehicle" to mean any motor vehicle which is more than twenty-five years old and is owned solely as a collector's item. 

DON’T DELAY!  Please contact the House Roads and Transportation Committee immediatelyto voice your opinion on H.B. 2812. 

Please e-mail a copy of your letter to Steve McDonald at stevem@sema.org.  Also, please forward this Alert to your fellow car enthusiasts.  Urge them to join the SAN and help defend the hobby! Thank you for your assistance. 

House Roads and Transportation Committee

To e-mail all Committee members, copy and paste the email address block below:

margaret.staggers@wvhouse.gov; linda.phillips@wvhouse.gov; daryl.cowles@wvhouse.gov; marty.gearheart@wvhouse.gov; anthony.barill@wvhouse.gov; brent.boggs@wvhouse.gov; linda.longstreth@wvhouse.gov; dana.lynch@wvhouse.gov; justin.marcum@wvhouse.gov; dan.poling@wvhouse.gov; doug.skaff@wvhouse.gov; peggydonaldsonsmith@wvhouse.gov; delegatestephens@comcast.net; josh.stowers@wvhouse.gov; david.walker@wvhouse.gov; danny.wells@wvhouse.gov; george.ambler@wvhouse.gov; jim.butler@wvhouse.gov; scott.cadle@wvhouse.gov; joe.ellington@wvhouse.gov; paul.espinosa@wvhouse.gov; david.evans@wvhouse.gov; danny.hamrick@wvhouse.gov; gary.howell@wvhouse.gov; john.shott@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Margaret Anne Staggers (Chair)
Phone: (304) 340-3197
 
Delegate Linda Phillips (Vice Chair)
Phone: (304) 340-3163
 
Delegate Daryl Cowles
Phone: (304) 340-3177
 
Delegate Marty Gearheart
Phone: (304) 340-3179
 
Delegate Anthony Barill
Phone: (304) 340-3173
 
Delegate Brent Boggs
Phone: (304) 340-3220
 
Delegate Linda Longstreth
Phone: (304) 340-3124
 
Delegate Dana Lynch
Phone: (304) 340-3916
 
Delegate Justin Marcum
Phone: (304) 340-3126
 
Delegate Daniel Poling
Phone: (304) 340-3137
 
Delegate Doug Skaff
Phone: (304) 340-3362
 
Delegate Margaret Smith
Phone: (304) 340-3123
 
Delegate Dale Stephens
Phone: (304) 340-3395
 
Delegate Josh Stowers
Phone: (304) 340-3337
 
Delegate David Walker
Phone: (304) 340-3135
 
Delegate Danny Wells
Phone: (304) 340-3287
 
Delegate George Ambler
Phone: (304) 340-3129
 
Delegate Jim Butler
Phone: (304) 340-3199
 
Delegate Scott Cadle
Phone: (304) 340-3118
 
Delegate Joe Ellington
Phone: (304) 340-3172
 
Delegate Paul Espinosa
Phone: (304) 340-3130
 
Delegate David Evans
Phone: (304) 340-3151
 
Delegate Danny Hamrick
Phone: (304) 340-3141
 
Delegate Gary Howell
Phone: (304) 340-3191
 
Delegate John Shott
Phone: (304) 340-3187
Email: john.shott@wvhouse.gov

Back to Breaking News: 2013 Archives