West Virginia Bill on Antique Motor Vehicle Property Taxes Amended and Approved by Committee

A bill (H.B. 2812) that originally sought to increase property taxes paid by some owners of antique motor vehicles was amended and approved by the House Roads and Transportation Committee.  Under the original bill, each of these cars would have had an assessed value of $5,000 for purposes of the tax regardless of their actual value.  Under the amendment introduced by Delegate Gary Howell and passed by the committee, vehicles valued at an amount less than $5,000 will be assessed at the lowest value shown in a nationally accepted used cars guide.  Vehicles valued at an amount above $5,000 would only be assessed at the $5,000 tax rate.  The bill will now be considered by the Finance Committee. 

We Urge You to Contact All Members of the House Finance Committee (Contact Info Below) Immediately To Request Support for H.B. 2812

  • West Virginia law defines an "Antique motor vehicle" to mean any motor vehicle which is more than twenty-five years old and is owned solely as a collector's item.
     
  • H.B. 2812 as amended recognizes that antique vehicles constitute a small portion of the vehicle fleet, are infrequently operated and deserving of a fair and reasonable tax assessment. 

DON’T DELAY!  Please contact members of the House Finance Committee immediately to voice support for H.B. 2812. 

Please e-mail a copy of your letter to Steve McDonald at stevem@sema.org.  Also, please forward this Alert to your fellow car enthusiasts.  Urge them to join the SAN and help defend the hobby! Thank you for your assistance. 

House Finance Committee

To e-mail all Committee members, copy and paste the email address block below:

hkwhite@wvhouse.gov; delegatedoug@yahoo.com; bill.anderson@wvhouse.gov; nelson@wvhouse.gov; kjcraigwv@aol.com; nancy.guthrie@wvhouse.gov; richard.iaquinta@wvhouse.gov; charlene.marshall@wvhouse.gov; rickymoye@wvhouse.gov; don.perdue@wvhouse.gov; dave.pethtel@wvhouse.gov; linda.phillips@wvhouse.gov; rupert.phillips@wvhouse.gov; dan.poling@wvhouse.gov; doug.skaff@wvhouse.gov; larry.williams@wvhouse.gov; troy.andes@wvhouse.gov; bob.ashley@wvhouse.gov; ray.canterbury@wvhouse.gov; daryl.cowles@wvhouse.gov; allen.evans@wvhouse.gov; marty.gearheart@wvhouse.gov; carol.miller@wvhouse.gov; erikka.storch@wvhouse.gov; ron.walters@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Harry White (Chair)
Phone: (304) 340-3230
Email: hkwhite@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Doug Reynolds (Vice Chair)
Phone: (304) 340-3280
Email: delegatedoug@yahoo.com

Delegate Bill Anderson
Phone: (304) 340-3168
Email: bill.anderson@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Eric Nelson
Phone: (304) 340-3181
Email: nelson@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Kevin Craig
Phone: (304) 340-3116
Email: kjcraigwv@aol.com

Delegate Nancy Guthrie
Phone: (304) 340-3156
Email: nancy.guthrie@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Richard Iaquinta
Phone: (304) 340-3161
Email: richard.iaquinta@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Charlene Marshall
Phone: (304) 340-3900
Email: charlene.marshall@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Rick Moye
Phone: (304) 340-3162
Email: rickymoye@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Don Perdue
Phone: (304) 340-3269
Email: don.perdue@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Dave Pethtel
Phone: (304) 340-3158
Email: dave.pethtel@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Linda Phillips
Phone: (304) 340-3163
Email: linda.phillips@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Rupert Phillips
Phone: (304) 340-3174
Email: rupert.phillips@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Dan Poling
Phone: (304) 340-3137
Email: dan.poling@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Doug Skaff
Phone: (304) 340-3362
Email: doug.skaff@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Larry Williams
Phone: (304) 340-3160
Email: larry.williams@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Troy Andes
Phone: (304) 340-3121
Email: troy.andes@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Bob Ashley
Phone: (304) 340-3185
Email: bob.ashley@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Ray Canterbury
Phone: (304) 340-3131
Email: ray.canterbury@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Daryl Cowles
Phone: (304) 340-3177
Email: daryl.cowles@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Allen Evans
Phone: (304) 340-3399
Email: allen.evans@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Marty Gearheart
Phone: (304) 340-3179
Email: marty.gearheart@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Carol Miller
Phone: (304) 340-3176
Email: carol.miller@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Erikka Storch
Phone: (304) 340-3378
Email: erikka.storch@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Rob Walters
Phone: (304) 340-3194
Email: ron.walters@wvhouse.gov

 

Back to Breaking News: 2013 Archives