Bill Reintroduced to Protect West Virginia Hobbyists from Unfair Exhaust Noise Citations

 

DON’T DELAY!  Please request support for H.B. 4193 immediately from the West Virginia House Roads and Transportation Committee (Full List Below) by emailing now:

You may use the following points in your message:

  • H.B. 4193 would remove subjective provisions in the law and force compliance with an objectively measured standard.  Under the standard, exhaust noise could not exceed a sound reading of 95-decibels under a fair and predictable test. 
     
  • H.B. 4193 would benefit consumers, the aftermarket industry and police officers who are charged with enforcing the law. 
     
  • H.B. 4193 would remedy the enforcement policy currently used by police officers in which nearly all exhaust system modifications are considered illegal, even where noise levels are not excessive or unusual.  This policy leaves enthusiasts, exhaust system manufacturers and dealers without recourse.
     
  • H.B. 4193 recognizes that aftermarket exhaust systems are more durable, are designed to make vehicles run more efficiently without increasing emissions and offer increased performance, which can make a vehicle safer by improving its ability to merge, pass, travel uphill, etc. 
     
  • H.B. 4193 challenges the erroneous assumption that enthusiasts who equip their vehicles with modified exhaust systems are involved in illegal street racing.
     

Overview:  Legislation (H.B. 4193) that would allow West Virginia’s vehicle hobbyists to install and use aftermarket exhaust systems that meet a 95-decibel limit was reintroduced by Delegate Gary Howell (gary.howell@wvhouse.gov) for the 2016 legislative session.   Current West Virginia law only allows a muffler originally installed by the manufacturer or an equivalent.


 

 

West Virginia House Roads and Transportation Committee

Delegate Marty Gearheart (Chair)
Phone: (304) 340-3179
Email: marty.gearheart@wvhouse.gov  
 
Delegate Danny Hamrick (Vice-Chair)
Phone: (304) 340-3141
Email: danny.hamrick@wvhouse.gov   
 
Delegate Patsy Trecost
Phone: (304) 340-3102
Email: patsy.trecost@wvhouse.gov 
 
Delegate Nancy Peoples Guthrie
Phone: (304) 340-3156
Email: nancy.guthrie@wvhouse.gov    
 
Delegate George Ambler
Phone: (304) 340-3129
Email: george.ambler@wvhouse.gov   
 
Delegate Lynne Arvon
Phone: (304) 340-3384
Email: karen.arvon@wvhouse.gov
 
Delegate Frank L. Blackwell
Phone: (304) 340-3163
Email: frank.blackwell@wvhouse.gov 
 
Delegate Brent Boggs 
Phone: (304) 340-3142
Email: brent.boggs@wvhouse.gov 
 
Delegate Jim Butler
Phone: (304) 340-3199
Email: jim.butler@wvhouse.gov 
 
Delegate Scott Cadle
Phone: (304) 340-3118
Email: scott.cadle@wvhouse.gov 
 
Delegate Paul Espinosa
Phone: (304) 340-3130
Email: paul.espinosa@wvhouse.gov   
 
Delegate Allen Evans
Phone: (304) 340-3399
Email: allen.evans@wvhouse.gov  
 
Delegate David Evans
Phone: (304) 340-3151
Email: david.evans@wvhouse.gov 
 
Delegate Tom Fast
Phone: (304) 340-3170
Email: tom.fast@wvhouse.gov 
 
Delegate Geoff Foster 
Phone: (304) 340-3121
Email: geoff.foster@wvhouse.gov 
 
Delegate Gary Howell
Phone: (304) 340-3192
Email: gary.howell@wvhouse.gov 
 
Delegate Linda Longstreth
Phone: (304) 340-3124
Email: linda.longstreth@wvhouse.gov 
 
Delegate Michel Moffatt
Phone: (304) 340-3152
Email: michel.moffatt@wvhouse.gov 
 
Delegate Rick Moye
Phone: (304) 340-3162
Email: rmoyewvhouse@yahoo.com 
 
Delegate Doug Reynolds
Phone: (304) 340-3280 
Email: delegatedoug@yahoo.com 

Delegate Matthew Rohrbach
Phone: (304) 340-3221
Email: matthew.rohrbach@wvhouse.gov 
 
Delegate Peggy Smith
Phone: (304) 340-3123
Email: delegatepeggysmith@msn.com 
 
Delegate Isaac Sponaugle
Phone: (304) 340-3154
Email: isaac.sponaugle@wvhouse.gov 
 
Delegate Joe Statler
Phone: (304) 340-3900
Email: joe.statler@wvhouse.gov 
 
Delegate Danny Wagner
Phone: (304) 340-3398
Email: danny.wagner@wvhouse.gov
 
 

Back to Breaking News: 2016 Archives