Washington Introduces Bill to Exempt Collectible Vehicles From Emissions Test Requirement

Legislation (H.B. 2359) to exempt collectible vehicles of any age from emissions testing was introduced in the Washington State House of Representatives.  The bill will be considered by the House Environment Committee.

We Urge You to Contact All Members of the House Environment Committee (Contact Info Below) Immediately To Request Their Support for H.B. 2359

  • H.B. 2359 defines collectible vehicles as a vehicle of unique or rare design, of limited production, and an object of curiosity that is maintained primarily for use in car club activities, exhibitions, parades, or other functions of public interest or for a private collection, and is used only infrequently for other purposes. 
     
  • H.B. 2359 requires that the vehicle have collectible vehicle or classic automobile insurance coverage that restricts the collectible vehicle mileage or use, or both, and requires the owner to have another vehicle for personal use.
     
  • H.B. 2359 recognizes the minimal impact of collectible vehicles on emissions and air quality.
     
  • H.B. 2359 acknowledges that collectible vehicles constitute a small portion of the overall vehicle population and are a poor source from which to look for emissions reduction.
     
  • H.B. 2359 endorses the fact that collectible vehicles are overwhelmingly well-maintained and infrequently driven.  

DON’T DELAY!  Please contact members of the Washington House Environment Committee immediately to request their support of H.B. 2359.   

Please e-mail a copy of your letter to Steve McDonald at stevem@sema.org.  Also, please forward this Alert to your fellow car enthusiasts.  Urge them to join the SAN and help defend the hobby! Thank you for your assistance. 

Washington House Environment Committee

To e-mail all Committee members, copy and paste the email address block below:

joe.fitzgibbon@leg.wa.gov; jessyn.farrell@leg.wa.gov; shelly.short@leg.wa.gov; liz.pike@leg.wa.gov; jake.fey@leg.wa.gov; paul.harris@leg.wa.gov; ruth.kagi@leg.wa.gov; marko.liias@leg.wa.gov; jeff.morris@leg.wa.gov; terry.nealey@leg.wa.gov; jason.overstreet@leg.wa.gov; tana.senn@leg.wa.gov; steve.tharinger@leg.wa.gov

Representative Joe Fitzgibbon (Chair)
Phone: (360) 786-7952
 
Representative Jessyn Farrell (Vice-Chair)
Phone: (360) 786-7818
 
Representative Shelly Short
Phone: (360) 786-7908
 
Representative Liz Pike
Phone: (360) 786-7812
 
Representative Jake Fey
Phone: (360) 786-7974
 
Representative Paul Harris
Phone: (360) 786-7976
 
Representative Ruth Kagi
Phone: (360) 786-7910
 
Representative Marko Liias
Phone: (360) 786-7972
 
Representative Jeff Morris
Phone: (360) 786-7970
 
Representative Terry Nealey
Phone: (360) 786-7828
 
Representative Jason Overstreet
Phone: (360) 786-7980
 
Representative Tana Senn
Phone: (360) 786-7894
 
Representative Steve Tharinger
Phone: (360) 786-7904


Back to Breaking News: 2014 Archives