Senate Committee Approves Pro-Hobbyist Inoperable Vehicle Bill in Washington State; Moves to Rules Committee for Consideration

A version of SEMA model legislation (S.B. 5121) to prohibit cities or towns from enforcing an ordinance, development regulation, zoning regulation, or administrative practice that prevents automobile collectors from pursuing their hobby was approved by the Senate Governmental Operations Committee.  Under the bill, junked, wrecked or inoperable vehicles stored on private property would only require screening from public view.  Six or fewer vehicles that are 30 years old or older, including one parts car, would be permitted for hobby vehicle restoration as long as restoration is an ancillary use of the property.  The bill will next be heard by the Washington Senate Rules Committee. 

We Urge You to Contact All Members of the Senate Rules Committee (List Attached Below) Immediately to Request Their Support for S.B. 5121

  • S.B. 5121 would permit the repair or modification of motor vehicles on private property that are undergoing restoration.
     
  • S.B. 5121 would permit the maintenance of a parts car as a source of parts for motor vehicles undergoing restoration.
     
  • S.B. 5121 permits the maintenance for restoration of vehicles 30 years old and older, which corresponds to the state’s definition of “collector vehicles.”
     
  • S.B. 5121 establishes reasonable provisions that vehicles be located out of public view by means of suitable fencing, trees, shrubbery or other means. 
     
  • S.B. 5121 demonstrates a real effort by legislators and hobbyists to enact reasonable and fair compromise legislation.

DON’T DELAY!  Please contact members of the Senate Rules Committee to request their support for S.B. 5121.  Thank you for your assistance.

Please e-mail a copy of your letter to Steve McDonald at stevem@sema.org.  Also, please forward this Alert to your fellow car enthusiasts.  Urge them to join the SAN and help defend the hobby! Thank you for your assistance.  

Washington Senate Rules Committee

To e-mail all Committee members, copy and paste the email address block below:

ltgov@leg.wa.gov; tim.sheldon@leg.wa.gov; barbara.bailey@leg.wa.gov; randi.becker@leg.wa.gov; Don.Benton@leg.wa.gov; Andy.Billig@leg.wa.gov; mike.carrell@leg.wa.gov; Bruce.Dammeier@leg.wa.gov; Debbie.Regala@leg.wa.gov; doug@senatorericksen.com; joe.fain@leg.wa.gov; Karen.Fraser@leg.wa.gov; David.Frockt@leg.wa.gov; Nick.Harper@leg.wa.gov; Karen.Keiser@leg.wa.gov; curtis.king@leg.wa.gov; Jeanne.Kohl-Welles@leg.wa.gov; Edward.Murray@leg.wa.gov; linda.parlette@leg.wa.gov; Ann.Rivers@leg.wa.gov; Schoesler.Mark@leg.wa.gov; rodney.tom@leg.wa.gov

Lieutenant Governor Brad Owen (Chair)
Phone: 360-786-7700
Email: ltgov@leg.wa.gov

Senator Tim Sheldon (Vice Chair)
Phone: 360-786-7668
Email: tim.sheldon@leg.wa.gov

Senator Barbara Bailey
Phone: 360-786-7618
Email: barbara.bailey@leg.wa.gov

Senator Randi Becker
Phone: 360-786-7602
Email: randi.becker@leg.wa.gov

Senator Don Benton
Phone: 360-786-7819
Email: Don.Benton@leg.wa.gov

Senator Andy Billig
Phone: 360-786-7604
Email: Andy.Billig@leg.wa.gov

Senator Mike Carrell
Phone: 360-786-7654
Email: mike.carrell@leg.wa.gov

Senator Bruce Dammeier
Phone: 360-786-7648
Email: Bruce.Dammeier@leg.wa.gov

Senator Jeannie Darnielle
Phone: 360-786-7652
Email: Debbie.Regala@leg.wa.gov

Senator Doug Ericksen
Phone: 360-786-7682
Email: doug@senatorericksen.com

Senator Joe Fain
Phone: 360-786-7692
Email: joe.fain@leg.wa.gov

Senator Karen Fraser
Phone: 360-786-7642
Email: Karen.Fraser@leg.wa.gov

Senator David Frockt
Phone: 360-786-7690
Email: David.Frockt@leg.wa.gov

Senator Nick Harper
Phone: 360-786-7674
Email: Nick.Harper@leg.wa.gov

Senator Karen Keiser
Phone: 360-786-7664
Email: Karen.Keiser@leg.wa.gov

Senator Curtis King
Phone: 360-786-7626
Email: curtis.king@leg.wa.gov

Senator Jeanne Kohl-Welles
Phone: 360-786-7670
Email: Jeanne.Kohl-Welles@leg.wa.gov

Senator Ed Murray
Phone: 360-786-7628
Email: Edward.Murray@leg.wa.gov

Senator Linda Evans Parlette
Phone: 360-786-7622
Email: linda.parlette@leg.wa.gov

Senator Ann Rivers
Phone: 360-786-7634
Email: Ann.Rivers@leg.wa.gov

Senator Mark Schoesler
Phone: 360-786-7620
Email: Schoesler.Mark@leg.wa.gov

Senator Rodney Tom
Phone: 360-786-7694
Email: rodney.tom@leg.wa.gov

Back to Breaking News: 2013 Archives