Vermont Reintroduces Bill to Penalize Some Aftermarket Exhaust Systems

A bill (H.B. 45) to ban motor vehicle exhaust systems that increase the noise level has been reintroduced in Vermont.  Under the bill, violators would not pass the state’s required inspection and would be subject to fines.  The bill does not provide an opportunity for vehicle hobbyists to install and use aftermarket modified exhaust systems that meet an objective decibel limit under a fair and predictable test.     

We Urge You to Contact House Transportation Committee Members (List Below) Immediately to Request Their Opposition to H.B. 45

  • H.B. 45 does not supply inspectors with an enforcement standard, allowing them to make subjective judgments on whether an exhaust system amplifies the noise emitted by the motor vehicle.
  • H.B. 45 fails to recognize that a better way to address this issue is by establishing a fair and reasonable exhaust noise decibel limit.
  • H.B. 45 ignores the fact that aftermarket exhaust systems are designed to make vehicles run more efficiently without increasing emissions.
  • H.B. 45 fails to recognize that aftermarket exhaust systems offer increased performance, which can make a vehicle safer by improving its ability to merge, pass, travel uphill, etc.
  • H.B. 45 would make it difficult for hobbyists to replace factory exhaust systems with more durable, better performing options.
  • H.B. 45 would subject vehicle owners to fines of up to $350.

DON’T DELAY!  Please contact members of the Vermont House Transportation Committee immediately by phone or e-mail to request their opposition to H.B. 45

Please e-mail a copy of your letter to Steve McDonald at stevem@sema.org.  Also, please forward this Alert to your fellow car enthusiasts.  Urge them to join the SAN and help defend the hobby! Thank you for your assistance.  

Vermont House Transportation Committee

To e-mail all Committee members, copy and paste the email address block below:

pbrennan@leg.state.vt.us; dpotter@leg.state.vt.us; tcorcoran@leg.state.vt.us; cbissonnette@leg.state.vt.us; mburke@leg.state.vt.us; agallivan@leg.state.vt.us; dkilmartin@leg.state.vt.us; dlanpher@leg.state.vt.us; mmccarthy@leg.state.vt.us; hrussell@leg.state.vt.us; kwright@leg.state.vt.us

 

Representative Patrick Brennan (Chair)

Email: pbrennan@leg.state.vt.us

Phone: 802-863-3773

 

Representative David Potter (Vice Chair)

Email: dpotter@leg.state.vt.us

Phone: 802-438-5385

 

Representative Timothy Corcoran

Email: tcorcoran@leg.state.vt.us

Phone: 802-447-0929

 

Representative Clement Bissonnette

Email: cbissonnette@leg.state.vt.us

Phone: 802-655-9527

 

Representative Mollie Burke

Email: mburke@leg.state.vt.us

Phone: 802-257-4844

 

Representative Anne Gallivan

Email: agallivan@leg.state.vt.us

Phone: 802-483-2854

 

Representative Duncan Kilmartin

Email: dkilmartin@leg.state.vt.us

Phone: 802-334-7883

 

Representative Diane Lanpher

Email: dlanpher@leg.state.vt.us

Phone: 802-877-2230

 

Representative Michael McCarthy

Email: mmccarthy@leg.state.vt.us

Phone: 802-233-7587

 

Representative Herbert Russell

Email: hrussell@leg.state.vt.us

Phone: 802-779-7370

 

Representative Kurt Wright

Email: kwright@leg.state.vt.us

Phone: 802-658-1410

 

Back to Breaking News: 2013 Archives