Utah Resolution to Urge Restoration of the Bonneville Salt Flats Approved by House; Moves to Senate

 

DON’T DELAY!  Please request support for H.C.R. 8 immediately from All Members of the Senate Natural Resources Committee (Full List Below) by emailing now:

You may use the following points in your message

  • The Bonneville Salt Flats (BSF) is a unique resource and national treasure.  The first land speed racing record was set in 1914 and the annual “Speed Week” racing event began in 1949.     
     
  • The U.S. Bureau of Land Management (BLM) has been its custodian since 1946.  Although the BSF is listed on the National Registry of Historic Places, the BLM has allowed millions of tons of salt to be withdrawn from the BSF.
     
  • HCR 8 calls attention to the deterioration of the BSF and urges the BLM to work with the Utah Alliance, Save the Salt Coalition and other concerned stakeholders to formulate a Plan to restore the BSF International Speedway to safe land speed racing conditions. 
     
  • HCR 8 urges the U.S. Congress and Utah's congressional delegation to take action to ensure that the Bonneville Salt Flats International Speedway is restored to safe racing conditions. 

Overview:  A House Resolution (HCR 8) urging the U.S. Bureau of Land Management to restore the Bonneville Salt Flats was approved by the Utah House.  The Bonneville Salt Flats is a national treasure, but for motorsports enthusiasts world-wide, it is much more.  From the first speed record attempts in 1914 and through the present day, hundreds of records have been set and broken in a variety of automotive and motorcycle classes.  The resolution will next be considered by the Senate Natural Resources Committee. 


 

Utah Senate Natural Resources Committee

Senator Scott K. Jenkins                    
sjenkins@le.utah.gov

Senator Allen M. Christensen            
achristensen@le.utah.gov

Senator Margaret Dayton                  
mdayton@le.utah.gov

Senator Jani Iwamoto            
jiwamoto@le.utah.gov

Senator Peter C. Knudson                 
pknudson@le.utah.gov

Senator Brian E. Shiozawa                
bshiozawa@le.utah.gov

Senator Evan J. Vickers                     
evickers@le.utah.gov

 

Back to Breaking News: 2016 Archives