Texas Reintroduces Bill to Tax Cars for Miles Traveled

URGENT LEGISLATIVE ALERT (UPDATE)
 

 
Texas Reintroduces Bill to Tax Cars for Miles Traveled

Legislation (H.B. 151) toimpose a vehicle miles traveled (VMT) tax on motor vehicles that travel 5,000 or more miles a year has been introduced.  The VMT tax will be calculated by charging 1 cent per mile driven during the inspection period minus the estimated fuel taxes paid by the vehicle’s owner.   The actual VMT would be measured using an annual odometer inspection.   The bill will be considered by the Texas House Ways and Means Committee. 

We Urge You to Contact the House Ways and MeansCommittee Members (List Below) Immediately To Request Their Opposition to H.B. 151

  • H.B. 151 would impose its harshest penalties on owners who rely on their vehicles to drive long distances to and from places of employment.
     
  • H.B. 151 penalizes national efforts to create a more fuel efficient vehicle fleet.  As gas tax revenues decrease due to hybrid and electric vehicle ownership, states are looking for new sources of funding for pet projects.

DON’T DELAY!  Please contact members of the Texas House Ways and MeansCommittee immediately by phone or e-mail to request their opposition to H.B. 151.    

Please e-mail a copy of your letter to Steve McDonald at stevem@sema.org.  Also, please forward this Alert to your fellow car enthusiasts.  Urge them to join the SAN and help defend the hobby! Thank you for your assistance. 

Texas House Ways & Means Committee

To e-mail all Committee members, copy and paste the email address block below:

dennis.bonnen@house.state.tx.us; yvonne.davis@house.state.tx.us; dwayne.bohac@house.state.tx.us; angie.button@house.state.tx.us; drew.darby@house.state.tx.us; Trey.Martinez.Fischer@house.state.tx.us; jim.murphy@house.state.tx.us; Tan.Parker@house.state.tx.us; Drew.Springer@house.state.tx.us; Chris.Turner@house.state.tx.us; john.wray@house.state.tx.us

Representative Dennis Bonnen (Chair)
Phone: 512-463-0564
Email: dennis.bonnen@house.state.tx.us

Representative Yvonne Davis (Vice-Chair)
Phone: 512-463-0598
Email: yvonne.davis@house.state.tx.us

Representative Dwayne Bohac
Phone: 512-463-0727
Email: dwayne.bohac@house.state.tx.us

Representative Angie Chen Button
Phone: 512-463-0486
Email: angie.button@house.state.tx.us

Representative Drew Darby
Phone: 512-463-0331
Email: drew.darby@house.state.tx.us

Representative Trey Martinez Fischer
Phone: 512-463-0616
Email: Trey.Martinez.Fischer@house.state.tx.us

Representative Jim Murphy
Phone: 512-463-0514
Email: jim.murphy@house.state.tx.us

Representative Tan Parker
Phone: 512-463-0688
Email: Tan.Parker@house.state.tx.us

Representative Drew Springer
Phone: 512-463-0526
Email: Drew.Springer@house.state.tx.us

Representative Chris Turner
Phone: 512-463-0574
Email: Chris.Turner@house.state.tx.us

Representative John Wray
Phone: 512-463-0516
Email: john.wray@house.state.tx.us

 

Back to Breaking News: 2015 Archives