Texas Introduces Bill to Extend Emissions Inspections Period

Legislation (H.B. 3489) has been introduced in Texas to increase the emissions inspection period from an annual requirement to every five years.  This bill would not affect a requirement that an emissions inspection be conducted during an initial inspection period in a county covered by testing.

We Urge You to Contact House Environmental Regulations Committee Members (Contact Info Below) Immediately to Request Support for H.B. 3489

  • H.B. 3489 acknowledges the relatively minimal environmental impact of the vehicles targeted for this extended emissions inspection period. 
     
  • H.B. 3489 acknowledges that it is senseless to test vehicles every year when the results demonstrate no significant air quality benefits.   The idea behind creating longer inspection periods is to reduce costs while not losing appreciable emission reductions.  This strategy builds support for emission inspection programs, but also directs finite resources to where they will be most valuable in cleaning the air.  

DON’T DELAY!  Please contact members of the House Environmental Regulations Committee immediately to request their support for H.B. 3489.

Please e-mail a copy of your letter to Steve McDonald at stevem@sema.org.  Also, please forward this Alert to your fellow car enthusiasts.  Urge them to join the SAN and help defend the hobby! Thank you for your assistance.  

Texas House Environmental Regulation Committee

To e-mail all Committee members, copy and paste the email address block below:

Patricia.harless@house.state.Tx.us; marisa.marquez@house.state.tx.us; jason.isaac@house.state.tx.us; kyle.kacal@house.state.tx.us; tryon.lewis@house.state.tx.us; ron.reynolds@house.state.tx.us; ed.thompson@house.state.tx.us; chris.turner@house.state.tx.us; Jason.Villalba@house.state.tx.us

Representative Patricia Harless (Chair)
Phone: (512) 463-0496
Email: Patricia.harless@house.state.Tx.us

Representative Marisa Márquez (Vice-Chair)
Phone: (512) 463-0638
Email: marisa.marquez@house.state.tx.us

Representative Jason Isaac
Phone: (512) 463-0647
Email: jason.isaac@house.state.tx.us

Representative Kyle Kacal
Phone: (512) 463-0412
Email: kyle.kacal@house.state.tx.us

Representative Tryon Lewis
Phone: (512) 463-0546
Email: tryon.lewis@house.state.tx.us

Representative Ron Reynolds
Phone: (512) 463-0494
Email: ron.reynolds@house.state.tx.us

Representative Ed Thompson
Phone: (512) 463-0707
Email: ed.thompson@house.state.tx.us

Representative Chris Turner
Phone: (512) 463-0574
Email: chris.turner@house.state.tx.us

Representative Jason Villalba
Phone: (512) 463-0576
Email: Jason.Villalba@house.state.tx.us
 

Back to Breaking News: 2013 Archives