Single License Plate Bill Introduced in Texas Legislature

Legislation (H.B. 557) to require the issuance of a single motor vehicle license plate for attachment at the rear of the vehicle was introduced in the Texas House Of Representatives.  The bill, favored by state hobbyists, would apply to passenger cars and light trucks.  

We Urge You to Contact Members of the House Transportation Committee (Contact Info Below) Immediately to Request Support for H.B. 557

  • H.B. 557 would apply to all passenger cars used to accommodate 10 or fewer passengers and light trucks, including pickup trucks, panel delivery trucks, or carryall trucks that have a manufacturer's rated carrying capacity of 2,000 pounds or less.
  • H.B. 557 would protect the aesthetic contours of collector cars and relieve vehicle owners of the burden of having to create mounting holes on fabricated bumpers, etc.
  • H.B. 557 would save money, conserve resources and bring Texas in line with other states that have moved to a single plate requirement.

DON’T DELAY!  Please contact members of the Texas House Transportation Committee immediately by phone or e-mail to request their support for H.B. 557.     

Please e-mail a copy of your letter to Steve McDonald at stevem@sema.org.  Also, please forward this Alert to your fellow car enthusiasts.  Urge them to join the SAN and help defend the hobby! Thank you for your assistance. 

Texas House Transportation Committee

To e-mail all Committee members, copy and paste the email address block below:

larry.phillips@house.state.tx.us; armando.martinez@house.state.tx.us; cindy.burkett@house.state.tx.us; yvonne.davis@house.state.tx.us; allen.fletcher@house.state.tx.us; bobby.guerra@house.state.tx.us; linda.harperbrown@house.state.tx.us; george.lavender@house.state.tx.us; Ruth.mcclendon@house.state.tx.us; joe.pickett@house.state.tx.us; debbie.riddle@house.state.tx.us

 

Representative Larry Phillips (Chair)
Phone: (512) 463-0297
 
Representative Armando Martinez (Vice Chair)
Phone: (512) 463-0530
 
Representative Cindy Burkett
Phone: (512) 463-0464
 
Representative Yvonne Davis
Phone: (512) 463-0598
 
Representative Allen Fletcher
Phone: (512) 463-0661
 
Representative Bobby Guerra
Phone: (512) 463-0578
 
Representative Linda Harper-Brown
Phone: (512) 463-0641
 
Representative George Lavender
Phone: (512) 463-0692
 
Representative Ruth Jones McClendon
Phone: (512) 463-0708
 
Representative Joseph Pickett
Phone: (512) 463-0596
 
Representative Debbie Riddle
Phone: (512) 463-0572

Back to Breaking News: 2013 Archives