Pennsylvania Reintroduces Bill to Extend Emissions Inspection Waiver For Newer Cars

Legislation (H.B. 1333) has been reintroduced in Pennsylvania to extend the emissions inspection exemption to vehicles never before registered in the state or any other jurisdiction for ten years from the date of original registration.  Current law only exempts new vehicles that have less than 5,000 miles on their odometer for one year after their first registration.

We Urge You to Contact Pennsylvania House Transportation Committee Members (Contact Information Below) Immediately to Request Support for H.B. 1333

  • H.B. 1333 acknowledges the relatively minimal environmental impact of the new vehicles targeted for this exemption.
     
  • H.B. 1333 acknowledges that it is senseless to test newer vehicles, the results of which demonstrate no significant air quality benefits.   The idea behind exempting any class of vehicles is to reduce costs while not losing appreciable emission reductions.  This strategy builds support for emission inspection programs, but also directs finite resources to where they will be most valuable in cleaning the air.  
     
  • H.B. 1333 still requires that the newest ten model year vehicles be subject to visual anti-tampering inspections for the presence of emissions control components installed on the vehicle by manufacturers.
     
  • Pennsylvania already exempts pre-1975 vehicles from emissions testing.  The logic for this trend is clear; such vehicles do not contribute in significant ways to air quality problems.  This logic applies equally to newer cars.   

DON’T DELAY!  Please contact members of the Pennsylvania House Transportation Committee immediately to request their support for H.B. 1333.  Please e-mail a copy of your letter to Steve McDonald at stevem@sema.org.  Also, please forward this Alert to your fellow car enthusiasts.  Urge them to join the SAN and help defend the hobby! Thank you for your assistance.  

Pennsylvania House Transportation Committee

To e-mail all Committee members, copy and paste the email address block below:

dhess@pahousegop.com; mmcgeeha@pahouse.net; aharris@pahousegop.com; dheffley@pahousegop.com; mkeller@pahousegop.com; jknowles@pahousegop.com; jmarshal@pahousegop.com; jpyle@pahousegop.com; jharhart@pahousegop.com; kharper@pahousegop.com; Dhickern@pahousegop.com; rmarsico@pahousegop.com; nmicozzi@pahousegop.com; rmiller@pahousegop.com; mquinn@pahousegop.com; kwatson@pahousegop.com; egainey@pahouse.net; RepBriggs@pahouse.net; mcarroll@pahouse.net; RepKortz@pahouse.net; RepParker@pahouse.net; RepSantarsiero@pahouse.net; RepKinsey@pahouse.net; mlongietti@pahouse.net; RepSchlossberg@pahouse.net

Representative Dick Hess (Chair)
Phone: 717-485-4430
 
Representative Michael McGeehan
Phone: (717) 772-4029
 
Representative Adam Harris
Phone: (717) 783-7830
 
Representative Doyle Heffley
Phone: (717) 260-6139
 
Representative Mark Keller
Phone: (717) 783-1593
 
Representative Jerry Knowles
Phone: (717) 787-9029
 
Representative Jim Marshall
Phone: (717) 260-6432
 
Representative Jeffrey Pyle
Phone: (717) 783-5327
 
Representative Julie Harhart
Phone: (717) 772-5398
 
Representative Kate Harper
Phone: (717) 787-2801
 
Representative David Hickernell
Phone: (717) 783-2076
 
Representative Ron Marsico
Phone: (717) 783-2014
 
Representative Nicholas Micozzie
Phone: (610) 284-0020
 
Representative Ron Miller
Phone: (717) 783-8389
 
Representative Marguerite Quinn
Phone: (717) 772-1413
 
Representative Katharine Watson
Phone: (717) 787-5452
 
Representative Ed Gainey
Phone: (717) 783-1017
 
Representative Tim Briggs
Phone: (717) 705-7011
 
Representative Mike Carroll
Phone: (717) 787-3589
 
Representative Williams Kortz II
Phone: (717) 787-8175
 
Representative Cherelle Parker
Phone: (717) 783-2178
 
Representative Steven Santarsiero
Phone: (717) 787-5475
 
Representative Stephen Kinsey
Phone: (717) 787-3181
 
Representative Mark Longietti
Phone: (717) 772-4035
 
Representative Michael Schlossberg
Phone: (717) 705-1869
Email: RepSchlossberg@pahouse.net
 

Back to Breaking News: 2013 Archives