Pennsylvania Reintroduces Bill to Extend Emissions Inspection Waiver For Newer Cars

URGENT LEGISLATIVE ALERT
 

Pennsylvania Reintroduces Bill to Extend Emissions Inspection Waiver For Newer Cars

Legislation (H.B. 1614) has been reintroduced in Pennsylvania to extend the emissions inspection exemption to vehicles never before registered in the state or any other jurisdiction for ten years from the date of original registration.  Current law only exempts new vehicles that have less than 5,000 miles on their odometer for one year after their first registration.

We Urge You to Contact Pennsylvania House Transportation Committee Members (Contact Information Below) Immediately to Request Support for H.B. 1614

  • H.B. 1614 acknowledges the relatively minimal environmental impact of the new vehicles targeted for this exemption.
  • H.B. 1614 acknowledges that it is senseless to test newer vehicles, the results of which demonstrate no significant air quality benefits.   The idea behind exempting any class of vehicles is to reduce costs while not losing appreciable emission reductions.  This strategy builds support for emission inspection programs, but also directs finite resources to where they will be most valuable in cleaning the air.   
  • H.B. 1614 still requires that the newest ten model year vehicles be subject to visual anti-tampering inspections for the presence of emissions control components installed on the vehicle by manufacturers.
  • Pennsylvania already exempts pre-1975 vehicles from emissions testing.  The logic for this trend is clear; such vehicles do not contribute in significant ways to air quality problems.  This logic applies equally to newer cars

DON’T DELAY!  Please contact members of the Pennsylvania House Transportation Committee immediately to request their support for H.B. 1614.  Please e-mail a copy of your letter to Steve McDonald at stevem@sema.org.  Also, please forward this Alert to your fellow car enthusiasts.  Urge them to join the SAN and help defend the hobby! Thank you for your assistance.    

Pennsylvania House Transportation Committee

To e-mail all Committee members, copy and paste the email address block below:

jtaylor@pahousegop.com wkeller@pahouse.net  dheffley@pahousegop.com mkeller@pahousegop.com jmarshall@pahousegop.com jpyle@pahousegop.com mquinn@pahousegop.com mvereb@pahousegop.com lculver@pahousegop.com jharhart@pahousegop.com kharper@pahousegop.com thenness@pahousegop.com rmarsico@pahousegop.com mreese@pahousegop.com ssaylor@pahousegop.com jsimmons@pahousegop.com kwatson@pahousegop.com  bbarbin@pahouse.net  mcarroll@pahouse.net egainey@pahouse.net skinsey@pahouse.net  rmatzie@pahouse.net tbriggs@pahouse.net mdonatuc@pahouse.net cparker@pahouse.net ssantars@pahouse.net

Representative John Taylor- Majority Chairman
Phone: (717) 787-3179
Email: jtaylor@pahousegop.com

Representative William Keller – Minority Chairman
Phone: (717) 787-5774
Email: wkeller@pahouse.net

Representative Doyle Heffley          
Phone: (717) 260-6139
Email: dheffley@pahousegop.com

Representative Mark Keller
Phone: (717) 783-1593
Email: mkeller@pahousegop.com

Representative Jim Marshall
Phone: (717) 260-6432
Email:  jmarshall@pahousegop.com

Representative Jeffrey Pyle
Phone: (717) 783-5327
Email:  jpyle@pahousegop.com 

Representative Marguerite Quinn
Phone: (717) 772-1413
Email:  mquinn@pahousegop.com

Representative Mike Vereb
Phone: (717) 705-7164
Email:  mvereb@pahousegop.com

Representative Lynda Schlegel Culver
Phone: (717) 787-3485
Email:  lculver@pahousegop.com

Representative Julie Harhart
Phone: (717) 772-5398
Email: jharhart@pahousegop.com

Representative Kate Harper
Phone: (717) 787-2801
Email: kharper@pahousegop.com

Representative Timothy Hennessey
Phone: (717) 787-3431
Email: thenness@pahousegop.com

Representative Ron Marsico
Phone: (717) 783-2014
Email:  rmarsico@pahousegop.com

Representative Mike Reese
Phone: (717) 783-9311
Email: mreese@pahousegop.com

Representative Stan Saylor
Phone: (717) 783-6426
Email: ssaylor@pahousegop.com

Representative Justin Simmons
Phone: (717) 783-1673
Email: jsimmons@pahousegop.com

Representative Katharine Watson
Phone: (717) 787-5452
Email: kwatson@pahousegop.com

Representative Bryan Barbin
Phone: (717) 783-1491
Email: bbarbin@pahouse.net

Representative Mike Carroll
Phone: (717) 787-3589
Email: mcarroll@pahouse.net

Representative Ed Gainey
Phone: (717) 783-1017
Email: egainey@pahouse.net

Representative Stephen Kinsey
Phone: (717) 787-3181
Email: skinsey@pahouse.net

Representative Robert Matzie
Phone: (717) 787-4444
Email: rmatzie@pahouse.net

Representative Michael Schlossberg  
Phone: (717) 705-1869
Email: mschloss@pahouse.net

Representative Tim Briggs
Phone: (717) 705-7011
Email: tbriggs@pahouse.net

Representative Maria Donatucci
Phone: (717) 783-8634
Email: mdonatuc@pahouse.net

Representative Cherelle Parker
Phone: (717) 783-2178
Email: cparker@pahouse.net

Representative Steven Santarsiero
Phone: (717) 787-5475
Email: ssantars@pahouse.net

 

Back to Breaking News: 2015 Archives