Pennsylvania Introduces Bill to Exempt Lycoming County From Emissions Inspections

Legislation (H.B. 985) has been introduced in Pennsylvania to exempt from emissions inspections those vehicles registered in fifth class counties with a population of less than 116,500 residents.   The bill would only impact vehicle owners in Lycoming County, as all other similarly populated counties are already exempt.

We Urge You to Contact House Transportation Committee Members (Contact Info Below) Immediately to Request Support for H.B. 985.

  • H.B. 985 acknowledges the relatively minimal environmental impact of the county vehicles targeted for this exemption.
     
  • H.B. 985 acknowledges that it is senseless to test vehicles when the results demonstrate no significant air quality benefits.   The idea behind exempting any class of vehicles is to reduce costs while not losing appreciable emission reductions.  This strategy builds support for emission inspection programs, but also directs finite resources to where they will be most valuable in cleaning the air.

DON’T DELAY!  Please contact members of the House Transportation Committee immediately to request their support for H.B. 985.

Pennsylvania House Transportation Committee

To e-mail all members of the Committee, copy and paste the email address block below:

dhess@pahousegop.com; mmcgeeha@pahouse.net; aharris@pahousegop.com; dheffley@pahousegop.com; mkeller@pahousegop.com; jknowles@pahousegop.com; jmarshal@pahousegop.com; jpyle@pahousegop.com; jharhart@pahousegop.com; kharper@pahousegop.com; Dhickern@pahousegop.com; rmarsico@pahousegop.com; nmicozzi@pahousegop.com; rmiller@pahousegop.com; mquinn@pahousegop.com; kwatson@pahousegop.com; egainey@pahouse.net; RepBriggs@pahouse.net; mcarroll@pahouse.net; RepKortz@pahouse.net; RepParker@pahouse.net; RepSantarsiero@pahouse.net; RepKinsey@pahouse.net; mlongietti@pahouse.net; RepSchlossberg@pahouse.net

Representative Dick Hess (Chair)
Phone: 717-485-4430
Email: dhess@pahousegop.com

Representative Michael McGeehan
Phone: (717) 772-4029
Email: mmcgeeha@pahouse.net

Representative Adam Harris
Phone: (717) 783-7830
Email: aharris@pahousegop.com

Representative Doyle Heffley
Phone: (717) 260-6139
Email: dheffley@pahousegop.com

Representative Mark Keller
Phone: (717) 783-1593
Email: mkeller@pahousegop.com

Representative Jerry Knowles
Phone: (717) 787-9029
Email: jknowles@pahousegop.com

Representative Jim Marshall
Phone: (717) 260-6432
Email: jmarshal@pahousegop.com

Representative Jeffrey Pyle
Phone: (717) 783-5327
Email: jpyle@pahousegop.com

Representative Julie Harhart
Phone: (717) 772-5398
Email: jharhart@pahousegop.com

Representative Kate Harper
Phone: (717) 787-2801
Email: kharper@pahousegop.com

Representative David Hickernell
Phone: (717) 783-2076
Email: Dhickern@pahousegop.com

Representative Ron Marsico
Phone: (717) 783-2014
Email: rmarsico@pahousegop.com

Representative Nicholas Micozzie
Phone: (610) 284-0020
Email: nmicozzi@pahousegop.com

Representative Ron Miller
Phone: (717) 783-8389
Email: rmiller@pahousegop.com

Representative Marguerite Quinn
Phone: (717) 772-1413
Email: mquinn@pahousegop.com

Representative Katharine Watson
Phone: (717) 787-5452
Email: kwatson@pahousegop.com

Representative Ed Gainey
Phone: (717) 783-1017
Email: egainey@pahouse.net

Representative Tim Briggs
Phone: (717) 705-7011
Email: RepBriggs@pahouse.net

Representative Mike Carroll
Phone: (717) 787-3589
Email: mcarroll@pahouse.net

Representative Williams Kortz II
Phone: (717) 787-8175
Email: RepKortz@pahouse.net

Representative Cherelle Parker
Phone: (717) 783-2178
Email: RepParker@pahouse.net

Representative Steven Santarsiero
Phone: (717) 787-5475
Email: RepSantarsiero@pahouse.net

Representative Stephen Kinsey
Phone: (717) 787-3181
Email: RepKinsey@pahouse.net

Representative Mark Longietti
Phone: (717) 772-4035
Email: mlongietti@pahouse.net

Representative Michael Schlossberg
Phone: (717) 705-1869
Email: RepSchlossberg@pahouse.net

 

Back to Breaking News: 2013 Archives