Pennsylvania Bill to Eliminate Ethanol Requirement in Gasoline Approved by House; Moves to Senate

URGENT LEGISLATIVE ALERT (UPDATE)
 

Pennsylvania Bill to Eliminate Ethanol Requirement in Gasoline Approved by House; Moves to Senate

Legislation (H.B. 471) to remove the requirement that gasoline offered for sale in the state contain a percentage of ethanol was approved by an overwhelming margin in the House of Representatives and will now be sent to the Senate Environmental Resources & Energy Committee for consideration. Currently, the state requires that “All gasoline sold or offered for sale to ultimate consumers in this Commonwealth must contain at least 10% cellulosic ethanol by volume . . .” .

Please Contact All Members of the Pennsylvania Senate Environmental Resources & Energy Committee (List Below) Immediately to Request Support for H.B. 471

  • H.B. 471 recognizes that ethanol fuels cause problems with fuel pumps, fuel gauges, as well as other engine performance issues, especially over a period of time when the vehicle is not used.  Current high performance specialty parts along with pre-model year 2001 cars and parts may be most susceptible to corrosion.
     
  • H.B. 471 acknowledges that ethanol has been shown to decrease fuel mileage.  
     
  • H.B. 471 recognizes that the life span of vehicles and equipment can be dramatically reduced with the wrong fuel and that owners could be confronted with break downs. Anti-corrosion additives are available for each purchase of gasoline but can become expensive, burdensome and require consumer education.   

DON’T DELAY!  Please contact all Senate Environmental Resources & Energy Committee members to request support for H.B. 471.   

Please e-mail a copy of your letter to Steve McDonald at stevem@sema.org.  Also, please forward this Alert to your fellow car enthusiasts.  Urge them to join the SAN and help defend the hobby! Thank you for your assistance.   

Pennsylvania Senate Environmental Resources & Energy Committee

Senator Gene Yaw - Majority Chairman
Phone: (717) 787-3280
Email: eyaw@pasen.gov

Senator John Yudichak - Minority Chairman
Phone: (717) 787-7105
Email: yudichak@pasenate.com

Senator Camera Bartolotta
Phone: (717) 787-1463
Email: bartolatta@pasen.gov

Senator Joseph Scarnati III
Phone: (717) 787-7084
Email: jscarnati@pasen.gov

Senator Elder Vogel Jr.
Phone: (717) 787-3076
Email: evogel@pasen.gov

Senator Kim Ward
Phone: (717) 787-6063
Email: kward@pasen.gov                                                                                                 

Senator Donald White
Phone: (717) 787-8724
Email: dwhite@pasen.gov

Senator John Blake
Phone: (717) 787-6481
Email: senatorblake@pasenate.com

Senator Andrew Dinniman
Phone: (717) 787-5544
Email: adinniman@pasenate.com  

Senator Daylin Leach
Phone: (717) 787-5544
Email: dleach@pasenate.com

Senator Scott Hutchison
Phone: (717) 787-9684
Email: shutchison@pasen.gov

Back to Breaking News: 2015 Archives