Ohio Bill Could Unfairly Restrict Headlamps

Legislation (S.B. 161) that would require headlights on motor vehicles to display a “white light” without defining the term has been introduced in the Ohio State Senate.  The bill has been referred to the Senate Transportation Committee for consideration.

We Urge You to Contact Members of the Senate Transportation Committee (Contact Info Below) Immediately to Oppose S.B. 161  

  • All headlamps are required to comply with the color requirements contained in the Federal Motor Vehicle Safety Standards. 
     
  • Under the Federal standards, it is possible to design a headlamp that can be perceived as having a blue tint but which nevertheless remains within the federal boundaries that define "white."  It is illegal for a state to enact a law that would conflict with a federal standard.
     
  • S.B. 161 may be targeting illegal high-intensity discharge (HID) conversion kits, which are already illegal under Federal law.  However, the bill could even ban factory-installed HID headlamps which emit a blue hue.

DON’T DELAY!  Please contact members of the Ohio Senate Transportation Committee immediately by phone or e-mail to request their opposition to S.B. 161   

Please e-mail a copy of your letter to Steve McDonald at stevem@sema.org.  Also, please forward this Alert to your fellow car enthusiasts.  Urge them to join the SAN and help defend the hobby! Thank you for your assistance. 

Ohio Senate Transportation Committee

To e-mail all Committee members, copy and paste the email address block below:

manning@ohiosenate.gov; patton@ohiosenate.gov; cafaro@ohiosenate.gov; balderson@ohiosenate.gov; gardner@ohiosenate.gov; gentile@ohiosenate.gov; larose@ohiosenate.gov; seitz@ohiosenate.gov; turner@ohiosenate.gov

Senator Gayle Manning (Chair)
Phone: (614) 644-7613 
 
Senator Tom Patton (Vice Chair)
Phone: (614) 466-8056
 
Senator Capri Cafaro
Phone: (614) 466-7182
 
Senator Troy Balderson
Phone: (614) 466-8076
 
Senator Randy Gardner
Phone: (614) 466-8060
 
Senator Lou Gentile
Phone: (614) 466-6508
 
Senator Frank LaRose
Phone: (614) 466-4823
 
Senator Bill Seitz
Phone: (614) 466-8068
 
Senator Nina Turner
Phone: (614) 466-4583
  

Back to Breaking News: 2013 Archives