North Dakota Bill to Further Restrict Vehicle Modifications Approved by Senate; Moves to House

URGENT LEGISLATIVE ALERT (UPDATE)
 

 
North Dakota Bill to Further Restrict Vehicle Modifications Approved by Senate; Moves to House 

A bill (S.B. 2166) to increase the population of vehicles prohibited from modifying the manufacturer's original suspension, steering or brake system was approved by the North Dakota Senate and has now been referred to the House Transportation Committee.  Under the bill, vehicles 10,000 pounds and less would be prohibited from these modifications.  Currently, vehicles 7,000 pounds and less are prohibited

We Urge You to Contact All Members of the House Transportation Committee (List Attached) Immediately To Request Their Opposition to S.B. 2166

  • S.B. 2166 was amended in committee to delete a provision that permits modification if the equipment meets “SEMA standards.”  There are no specific SEMA standards applicable to equipment used to modify suspension, steering or brake systems.  SEMA does not set standards. 
     
  • S.B. 2166 as amended would instead require that modifying equipment, including tires, meet unspecified state requirements.
     
  • Senator Dave Oehlke (doehlke@nd.gov), the sponsor of S.B. 2166, claims that the bill is intended to remedy a “gap” in the current law that gives vehicles between 7,000 and 10,000 pounds unlimited ability to make vehicle height modifications.  After thorough review, we were not able to verify such a gap

DON’T DELAY!  Please contact members of the North Dakota House Transportation Committee immediately to request their opposition to S.B. 2166

Please e-mail a copy of your letter to Steve McDonald at stevem@sema.org.  Thank you for your assistance.

North Dakota House Transportation Committee

To e-mail all Committee members, copy and paste the email address block below:

druby@nd.gov; lmeier@nd.gov; rcbecker@nd.gov; ldelmore@nd.gov; rfrantsvog@nd.gov; bwhanson@nd.gov; khawken@nd.gov; menelson@nd.gov; cdolson@nd.gov; mowens@nd.gov; gpaur@nd.gov; mischatz@nd.gov; gsukut@nd.gov; rweisz@nd.gov

Representative Dan Ruby (Chair)
Phone: 701-838-1182
Email: druby@nd.gov

Representative Lisa Meier (Vice-Chair)
Phone: 701-202-7126
Email: lmeier@nd.gov

Representative Rick C. Becker
Phone: 701-530-3333
Email: rcbecker@nd.gov

Representative Lois Delmore
Phone: 701-772-8428
Email: ldelmore@nd.gov

Representative Robert Frantsvog
Phone: 701-839-5307
Email: rfrantsvog@nd.gov

Representative Ben Hanson
Phone: 701-446-8634
Email: bwhanson@nd.gov

Representative Kathy Hawken
Phone: 701-293-5483
Email: khawken@nd.gov

Representative Marvin E. Nelson
Phone: 701-477-3422
Email: menelson@nd.gov

Representative Christopher D. Olson
Phone: 701-204-0424
Email: cdolson@nd.gov

Representative Mark S. Owens
Phone: 701-792-1819
Email: mowens@nd.gov

Representative Gary Paur
Phone: 701-869-2892
Email: gpaur@nd.gov

Representative Mike Schatz
Phone: 701-579-4823
Email: mischatz@nd.gov

Representative Gary R. Sukut
Phone: 701-572-9607
Email: gsukut@nd.gov

Representative Robin Weisz
Phone: 701-962-3299
Email: rweisz@nd.gov

 

Back to Breaking News: 2015 Archives