North Carolina Introduces Bill to Speed Titling Process for Out-of-State Older Vehicles

Legislation (S.B. 344) to provide for the prompt issuance of titles to owners of out-of-state motor vehicles that are 35-years old or older has been introduced in the North Carolina Senate.  Under the bill, if a required inspection and verification is not conducted by the Division of Motor Vehicles within 10 days after receiving a request and the inspector has no probable cause to believe that the ownership documents or public vehicle identification number does not match the vehicle being examined, the vehicle will be deemed to have satisfied all inspection and verification requirements and the title will be issued to the owner within 10 days.  If an inspection and verification is performed in a timely manner and the vehicle passes the inspection and verification, title shall issue to the owner within 10 days of the date of the inspection.

We Urge You to Contact Members of the Senate Commerce Committee (Contact Info Below) Immediately to Request Support for S.B. 344

  • Under current law, no title may be issued for out-of-state vehicles that are 35 years old or older or a specially constructed vehicle prior to the completion of a vehicle verification conducted by the License and Theft Bureau of the Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV). These verifications must be conducted as soon as practical.
     
  • The DMV continues to delay these inspections for weeks after a request is made, and more than a month in some cases, including in metropolitan areas.  Once the inspection is completed, vehicle owners are informed that it may take weeks before a title is mailed, which stalls the timely buying and selling of vintage automobiles.
     
  • S.B. 344 would provide vehicle owners a fair, reasonable and reliable time period in which they could have these older cars inspected and receive title from the DMV.

DON’T DELAY!  Please contact members of the North Carolina Senate Commerce Committee immediately by phone or e-mail to request their support for S.B. 344.   

Please e-mail a copy of your letter to Steve McDonald at stevem@sema.org.  Also, please forward this Alert to your fellow car enthusiasts.  Urge them to join the SAN and help defend the hobby! Thank you for your assistance. 

North Carolina Senate Commerce Committee

To e-mail all Committee members, copy and paste the email address block below:

Rick.Gunn@ncleg.net; Wesley.Meredith@ncleg.net; Tamara.Barringer@ncleg.net; Harry.Brown@ncleg.net; Tom.Apodaca@ncleg.net; Dan.Blue@ncleg.net; Peter.Brunstetter@ncleg.net; Angela.Bryant@ncleg.net; Ben.Clark@ncleg.net; David.Curtis@ncleg.net; Don.Davis@ncleg.net; Jim.Davis@ncleg.net; Thom.Goolsby@ncleg.net; Malcolm.Graham@ncleg.net; Kathy.Harrington@ncleg.net; Neal.Hunt@ncleg.net; Clark.Jenkins@ncleg.net; Floyd.McKissick@ncleg.net; Gene.McLaurin@ncleg.net; Martin.Nesbitt@ncleg.net; Buck.Newton@ncleg.net; Gladys.Robinson@ncleg.net; Bob.Rucho@ncleg.net; Norman.Sanderson@ncleg.net; Dan.Soucek@ncleg.net; Josh.Stein@ncleg.net; Jeff.Tarte@ncleg.net; Jerry.Tillman@ncleg.net; Tommy.Tucker@ncleg.net; Mike.Woodard@ncleg.net

Senator Rick Gunn (Co-Chair)
Phone: (919) 301-1446
 
Senator Wesley Meredith (Co-Chair)
Phone: (919) 733-5776
 
Senator Tamara Barringer (Vice-Chair)
Phone: (919) 733-5653
 
Senator Harry Brown (Vice-Chair)
Phone: (919) 715-3034
 
Senator Tom Apodaca
Phone: (919) 733-5745
 
Senator Dan Blue
Phone: (919) 733-5752
 
Senator Peter S. Brunstetter
Phone: (919) 733-7850
 
Senator Angela R. Bryant
Phone: (919) 733-5878
 
Senator Ben Clark
Phone: (919) 733-9349
 
Senator David L. Curtis
Phone: (919) 715-3038
 
Senator Don Davis
Phone: (919) 715-8363
 
Senator Jim Davis
Phone: (919) 733-5875
 
Senator Thom Goolsby
Phone: (919) 715-2525
 
Senator Malcolm Graham
Phone: (919) 733-5650
 
Senator Kathy Harrington
Phone: (919) 733-5734
 
Senator Neal Hunt
Phone: (919) 733-5850
 
Senator Clark Jenkins
Phone: (919) 715-3040
 
Senator Floyd B. McKissick, Jr.
Phone: (919) 733-4599
 
Senator Gene McLaurin
Phone: (919) 733-5953
 
Senator Martin L. Nesbitt, Jr.
Phone: (919) 715-3001
 
Senator E. S. (Buck) Newton
Phone: (919) 715-3030
 
Senator Gladys A. Robinson
Phone: (919) 715-3042
 
Senator Bob Rucho
Phone: (919) 733-5655
 
Senator Norman W. Sanderson
Phone: (919) 733-5706
 
Senator Dan Soucek
Phone: (919) 733-5742
 
Senator Josh Stein
Phone: (919) 715-6400
 
Senator Jeff Tarte
Phone: (919) 715-3050
 
Senator Jerry W. Tillman
Phone: (919) 733-5870
 
Senator Tommy Tucker
Phone: (919) 733-7659
 
Senator Mike Woodard
Phone: (919) 733-4809
 

Back to Breaking News: 2013 Archives