North Carolina Bill to Speed Titling Process for Out-of-State Older Vehicles Approved by Committee; Moves to Senate Floor on April 10

Legislation (S.B. 344) to provide for the prompt issuance of titles to owners of out-of-state motor vehicles that are 35-years old or older was approved by the North Carolina Senate Commerce Committee.  The bill will be considered on the Senate floor by all members on April 10, 2103.  Under the bill, if a required inspection and verification is not conducted by the Division of Motor Vehicles within 10 days after receiving a request and the inspector has no probable cause to believe that the ownership documents or public vehicle identification number does not match the vehicle being examined, the vehicle will be deemed to have satisfied all inspection and verification requirements and the title will be issued to the owner within 10 days.  If an inspection and verification is performed in a timely manner and the vehicle passes the inspection and verification, title will issue to the owner within 10 days of the date of the inspection.

We Urge You to Contact All Members of the Senate (Contact Info Below) Immediately to Request Support for S.B. 344

  • Under current law, no title may be issued for out-of-state vehicles that are 35 years old or older or a specially constructed vehicle prior to the completion of a vehicle verification conducted by the License and Theft Bureau of the Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV). These verifications must be conducted as soon as practical.
     
  • The DMV continues to delay these inspections for weeks after a request is made, months in some cases, including in metropolitan areas.  Once the inspection is completed, vehicle owners are informed that it may take additional weeks or months before a title is mailed, which stalls the timely buying and selling of vintage automobiles.
     
  • S.B. 344 would provide vehicle owners a fair, reasonable and reliable time period in which they could have these older cars inspected and receive title from the DMV.

DON’T DELAY!  Please contact all members of the North Carolina Senate immediately by phone or e-mail to request their support for S.B. 344.   

Please e-mail a copy of your letter to Steve McDonald at stevem@sema.org.  Also, please forward this Alert to your fellow car enthusiasts.  Urge them to join the SAN and help defend the hobby! Thank you for your assistance. 

North Carolina Senate

To e-mail all Senate members, copy and paste the email address block below:

Austin.Allran@ncleg.net; Tom.Apodaca@ncleg.net; Chad.Barefoot@ncleg.net; Tamara.Barringer@ncleg.net; Phil.Berger@ncleg.net; Stan.Bingham@ncleg.net; Dan.Blue@ncleg.net; Andrew.Brock@ncleg.net; Harry.Brown@ncleg.net; Peter.Brunstetter@ncleg.net; Angela.Bryant@ncleg.net; Ben.Clark@ncleg.net; Daniel.Clodfelter@ncleg.net; Bill.Cook@ncleg.net; David.Curtis@ncleg.net; Warren.Daniel@ncleg.net; Don.Davis@ncleg.net; Jim.Davis@ncleg.net; Joel.Ford@ncleg.net; Thom.Goolsby@ncleg.net; Malcolm.Graham@ncleg.net; Rick.Gunn@ncleg.net; Kathy.Harrington@ncleg.net; Fletcher.Hartsell@ncleg.net; Ralph.Hise@ncleg.net; Neal.Hunt@ncleg.net; Brent.Jackson@ncleg.net; Clark.Jenkins@ncleg.net; Ellie.Kinnaird@ncleg.net; Floyd.McKissick@ncleg.net; Gene.McLaurin@ncleg.net; Wesley.Meredith@ncleg.net; Martin.Nesbitt@ncleg.net; Buck.Newton@ncleg.net; Earline.Parmon@ncleg.net; Louis.Pate@ncleg.net; Ron.Rabin@ncleg.net; Bill.Rabon@ncleg.net; Shirley.Randleman@ncleg.net; Gladys.Robinson@ncleg.net; Bob.Rucho@ncleg.net; Norman.Sanderson@ncleg.net; Dan.Soucek@ncleg.net; Josh.Stein@ncleg.net; Jeff.Tarte@ncleg.net; Jerry.Tillman@ncleg.net; Tommy.Tucker@ncleg.net; Trudy.Wade@ncleg.net; Michael.Walters@ncleg.net; Mike.Woodard@ncleg.net

Back to Breaking News: 2013 Archives