North Carolina Bill to Speed Titling Process for Out-of-State Older Vehicles Amended and Approved by Senate

Legislation (S.B. 344) to provide for the prompt issuance of titles to owners of out-of-state motor vehicles that are 35-years old or older was approved by the North Carolina Senate with amendments.  Under the amended bill, if a required inspection and verification is not conducted by the Division of Motor Vehicles within 15 days after receiving a request and the inspector has no probable cause to believe that the ownership documents or public vehicle identification number does not match the vehicle being examined, the vehicle will be deemed to have satisfied all inspection and verification requirements and the title will be issued to the owner within 15 days.  If an inspection and verification is performed in a timely manner and the vehicle passes the inspection and verification, title will issue to the owner within 15 days of the date of the inspection.  In the original version of the bill, the DMV was given 10 days to perform an inspection and another 10 days to issue title.  Absent a more hobby-friendly alternative, we believe that the bill as amended still deserves our support.  The bill has been sent to the House Transportation Committee for consideration.

We Urge You to Contact All Members of the House Transportation Committee (Contact Info Below) Immediately to Request Support for S.B. 344

  • Under current law, no title may be issued for out-of-state vehicles that are 35 years old or older or a specially constructed vehicle prior to the completion of a vehicle verification conducted by the License and Theft Bureau of the Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV). These verifications must be conducted as soon as practical.
     
  • The DMV continues to delay these inspections for weeks after a request is made, months in some cases, including in metropolitan areas.  Once the inspection is completed, vehicle owners are informed that it may take additional weeks or months before a title is mailed, which stalls the timely buying and selling of vintage automobiles.
     
  • S.B. 344 would provide vehicle owners a fair, reasonable and reliable time period in which they could have these older cars inspected and receive title from the DMV.

DON’T DELAY!  Please contact all members of the North Carolina House Transportation Committee immediately by phone or e-mail to request their support for S.B. 344.  Please e-mail a copy of your letter to Steve McDonald at stevem@sema.org.  Also, please forward this Alert to your fellow car enthusiasts.  Urge them to join the SAN and help defend the hobby! Thank you for your assistance. 

North Carolina House Transportation Committee

To e-mail all Committee members, copy and paste the email address block below:

Bill.Brawley@ncleg.net; Frank.Iler@ncleg.net; Dana.Bumgardner@ncleg.net; Becky.Carney@ncleg.net; George.Cleveland@ncleg.net; Carl.Ford@ncleg.net; Phil.Shepard@ncleg.net; Dean.Arp@ncleg.net; Hugh.Blackwell@ncleg.net; Jamie.Boles@ncleg.net; William.Brisson@ncleg.net; Brian.Brown@ncleg.net; Rayne.Brown@ncleg.net; Rick.Catlin@ncleg.net; Tricia.Cotham@ncleg.net; Josh.Dobson@ncleg.net; Nelson.Dollar@ncleg.net; John.Faircloth@ncleg.net; Valerie.Foushee@ncleg.net; Rosa.Gill@ncleg.net; Ken.Goodman@ncleg.net; Charles.Graham@ncleg.net; Larry.Hall@ncleg.net; Susi.Hamilton@ncleg.net; Kelly.Hastings@ncleg.net; Yvonne.Holley@ncleg.net; Charles.Jeter@ncleg.net; Pat.McElraft@ncleg.net; Chuck.McGrady@ncleg.net; Deb.McManus@ncleg.net; Tim.Moffitt@ncleg.net; Rodney.Moore@ncleg.net; Tim.Moore@ncleg.net; Larry.Pittman@ncleg.net; Stephen.Ross@ncleg.net; Jason.Saine@ncleg.net; Jacqueline.Schaffer@ncleg.net; Edgar.Starnes@ncleg.net; Michael.Stone@ncleg.net; Evelyn.Terry@ncleg.net; Paul.Tine@ncleg.net; Joe.Tolson@ncleg.net; John.Torbett@ncleg.net; Winkie.Wilkins@ncleg.net

Representative William Brawley (Chair)
Phone: 919-733-5800
 
Representative Frank Iler (Chair)
Phone: 919-301-1450
 
Representative Dana Bumgardner (Vice-Chair)
Phone: 919-733-5809
 
Representative Becky Carney (Vice-Chair)
Phone: 919-733-5827
 
Representative George Cleveland (Vice-Chair)
Phone: 919-715-6707
 
Representative Carl Ford (Vice-Chair)
Phone: 919-733-5881
 
Representative Phil Shepard (Vice-Chair)
Phone: 919-715-9644
 
Representative Dean Arp
Phone: 919-715-3007
 
Representative Hugh Blackwell
Phone: 919-733-5805
 
Representative James Boles
Phone: 919-733-5903
 
Representative William Brisson
Phone: 919-733-5772
 
Representative Brian Brown
Phone: 919-733-5757
 
Representative Rayne Brown
Phone: 919-715-0873
 
Representative Rick Catlin
Phone: 919-733-5830
 
Representative Tricia Cotham
Phone: 919-715-0706
 
Representative Josh Dobson
Phone: 919-733-5862
 
Representative Nelson Dollar
Phone: 919-715-0795
 
Representative John Faircloth
Phone: 919-733-5877
 
Representative Valerie Foushee
Phone: 919-715-3019
 
Representative Rosa Gill
Phone: 919-733-5880
 
Representative Ken Goodman
Phone: 919-733-5823
 
Representative Charles Graham
Phone: 919-715-0875
 
Representative Larry Hall
Phone: 919-733-5872
 
Representative Susie Hamilton
Phone: 919-733-5754
 
Representative Kelly Hastings
Phone: 919-715-2002
 
Representative Yvonne Holley
Phone: 919-733-5758
 
Representative Charles Jeter
Phone: 919-733-5654
 
Representative Pat McElraft
Phone: 919-733-6275
 
Representative Chuck McGrady
Phone: 919-733-5956
 
Representative Deb McManus
Phone: 919-733-0057
 
Representative Tim Moffitt
Phone: 919-715-3012
 
Representative Rodney Moore
Phone: 919-733-5606
 
Representative Tim Moore
Phone: 919-733-4838
 
Representative Larry Pittman
Phone: 919-715-2009
 
Representative Stephen Ross
Phone: 919-733-5820
 
Representative Jason Saine
Phone: 919-733-5782
 
Representative Jacqueline Schaffer
Phone: 919-733-5886
 
Representative Edgar Starnes
Phone: 919-733-5931
 
Representative Michael Stone
Phone: 919-715-3026
 
Representative Evelyn Terry
Phone: 919-733-5777
 
Representative Paul Tine
Phone: 919-733-5906
 
Representative Joe Tolson
Phone: 919-715-3024
 
Representative John Torbett
Phone: 919-733-5868
 
Representative Winkie Wilkins
Phone: 919-715-0850
Email: Winkie.Wilkins@ncleg.net
 

Back to Breaking News: 2013 Archives