Pro-Hobbyist Street Rod and Custom Vehicle Bill Reintroduced in New York

SEMA model legislation (A.B. 3041) to create a vehicle titling and registration classification for street rods and custom vehicles has been reintroduced in the New York State Senate and Assembly.  The bill defines a street rod as an altered vehicle manufactured before 1949 and a custom as an altered vehicle at least 25 years old and manufactured after 1948.  Under the bill, kit cars and replica vehicles will be assigned a certificate of title bearing the same model year designation as the production vehicle they most closely resemble.  An identical bill has been introduced in the New York Senate (S.B. 1103) 

We Urge You to Contact Members of the New York Assembly Transportation  Committee (List Below) Immediately to Request Their Support for A.B. 3041

  • A.B. 3041 provides specific registration (one-time registration fee of $23) and titling classes for street rods and customs, including kits and replicas. 
     
  • A.B. 3041 allows for the use of non-original materials and creates a titling criterion that assigns these vehicles the same model year designation as the production vehicle they most closely resemble.
     
  • A.B. 3041 exempts street rods and customs from a range of standard equipment requirements (only that equipment required in the model year that the vehicle resembles) and emissions inspections.
     
  • A.B. 3041 provides that vehicles titled and registered as street rods and custom vehicles may only be used for occasional transportation, exhibitions, club activities, parades, tours, etc. and not for general daily transportation.
     
  • A.B. 3041 provides for special license plates for street rods and custom vehicles and permits the use of blue dot taillights.

DON’T DELAY!  Please contact members of the Assembly Transportation Committee immediately by phone or e-mail to urge their support for A.B. 3041. 
Please e-mail a copy of your letter to Steve McDonald at stevem@sema.org.  Also, please forward this Alert to your fellow car enthusiasts.  Urge them to join the SAN and help defend the hobby! Thank you for your assistance. 

New York Assembly Transportation Committee

To e-mail all Committee members, copy and paste the email address block below:

GanttD@assembly.state.ny.us; BorelliJ@assembly.state.ny.us; braunsteine@assembly.state.ny.us; bronsonh@assembly.state.ny.us; CrespoM@assembly.state.ny.us; cusickm@assembly.state.ny.us; DenDekkerM@assembly.state.ny.us; DiPietroD@assembly.state.ny.us; GabryszakD@assembly.state.ny.us; HennesseyE@assembly.state.ny.us; LupardoD@assembly.state.ny.us; LupinacciC@assembly.state.ny.us; MaiselA@assembly.state.ny.us; malliotakisn@assembly.state.ny.us; McDonoD@assembly.state.ny.us; millmaj@assembly.state.ny.us; NojayW@assembly.state.ny.us; perryn@assembly.state.ny.us; reilicw@assembly.state.ny.us; RobertsS@assembly.state.ny.us; SchimelM@assembly.state.ny.us; skartadosf@assembly.state.ny.us; SkoufisJ@assembly.state.ny.us; SteckP@assembly.state.ny.us; ThieleF@assembly.state.ny.us; weisenbergh@assembly.state.ny.us

Assemblymember David Gantt (Chair)
Phone: 518-455-5606
 
Assemblymember Joseph Borelli
Phone: 518-455-4495
 
Assemblymember Edward Braunstein
Phone: 518-455-5425
 
Assemblymember Harry Bronson
Phone: 518-455-4527
 
Assemblymember Marcos Crespo
Phone: 518-455-5514
 
Assemblymember Michael Cusick
Phone: 518-455-5526
 
Assemblymember Michael DenDekker
Phone: 518-455-4545
 
Assemblymember David DiPietro
Phone: 518-455-5314
 
Assemblymember Dennis Gabryszak
Phone: 518-455-5921
 
Assemblymember Edward Hennessey
Phone: 518-455-4901
 
Assemblymember Donna Lupardo
Phone: 518-455-5431
 
Assemblymember Chad Lupinacci
Phone: 518-455-5732
 
Assemblymember Alan Maisel
Phone: 518-455-5211
 
Assemblymember Nicole Malliotakis
Phone: 518-455-5716
 
Assemblymember David McDonough
Phone: 518-455-4633
 
Assemblymember Joan Millman
Phone: 518-455-5426
 
Assemblymember Bill Nojay
Phone: 518-455-5662
 
Assemblymember N. Nick Perry
Phone: 518-455-4166
 
Assemblymember Bill Reilich
Phone: 518-455-4664
 
Assemblymember Samuel Roberts
Phone: 518-455-5383
 
Assemblymember Michelle Schimel
Phone: 518-455-5192
 
Assemblymember Frank Skartados
Phone: 518-455-5762
 
Assemblymember James Skoufis
Phone: 518-455-5441
 
Assemblymember Phil Steck
Phone: 518-455-5931
 
Assemblymember Fred Thiele, Jr.
Phone: 518-455-5997
 
Assemblymember Harvey Weisenberg
Phone: 518-455-3028
 

Back to Breaking News: 2013 Archives