New Mexico Bill to Ease Titling and Registration of Replica Cars Approved by Full House; Moves to Senate

URGENT LEGISLATIVE ALERT (UPDATE)
 

New Mexico Bill to Ease Titling and Registration of Replica Cars Approved by Full House; Moves to Senate

A version ofSEMA model legislation (H.B. 510) to ease the process by which replica cars are titled and registered was approved by the full New Mexico House of Representatives and now moves to the Senate Corporations and Transportation Committee for consideration.  H.B. 510 defines "replica car" as a motor vehicle that is assembled from a pre-fabricated chassis and body kit purchased from a replica car manufacturer.   

Please Contact Members of the New Mexico Senate Corporations & Transportation Committee (Contact Info Below) to Request Support for H.B. 510

  • H.B. 510 creates a specific registration and titling class for replicas and provides that the model year is the year of the model or brand that a replica car most resembles.

  • H.B. 510 provides that a replica car is exempt from a state or local law or ordinance requiring periodic vehicle or vehicle emission inspections and testing.

  • H.B. 510 provides that a replica car need not have equipment that was not required by state or federal law in its model year.

  • H.B. 510 provides that for title and registration purposes, the date of manufacture would be the year the replica car chassis and body kit was manufactured.

  • H.B. 510 provides that the certificate of title and registration would prominently display the fact that it is a replica car and the date of its manufacture. The state may also assign a vehicle identification number to a replica car.

  • H.B. 510 provides that replica cars shall be maintained only for occasional transportation, exhibitions, vehicle club activities, parades, tours and similar limited uses and not for general or daily transportation.

  • H.B. 510, if enacted into law, would become effective on July 1, 2015.

DON’T DELAY!  Please contact members of the New Mexico Senate Corporations & Transportation Committee by e-mail to request their support for H.B. 510    

Please e-mail a copy of your letter to Steve McDonald at stevem@sema.org.  Also, please forward this Alert to your fellow car enthusiasts.  Urge them to join the SAN and help defend the hobby! Thank you for your assistance. 

New Mexico Senate Corporations & Transportation Committee

To e-mail all Committee members, copy and paste the email address block below:

clemente.sanchez@nmlegis.gov; lee.cotter@nmlegis.gov; mark.moores@nmlegis.gov; michael.padilla@nmlegis.gov; marykay.papen@nmlegis.gov; sander.rue@nmlegis.gov; john.sapien@nmlegis.gov; mimi.stewart@nmlegis.gov; bill@williamsharer.com

Senator Clemente Sanchez (Vice-Chair)
Phone: 505-986-4369
Email: clemente.sanchez@nmlegis.gov

Senator Lee S. Cotter
Phone: 505-986-4377
Email: lee.cotter@nmlegis.gov

Senator Mark Moores
Phone: 505-986-4859
Email: mark.moores@nmlegis.gov

Senator Michael Padilla
Phone: 505-986-4726
Email: michael.padilla@nmlegis.gov

Senator Mary Kay Papen
Phone: 505-986-4733
Email: marykay.papen@nmlegis.gov

Senator Sander Rue
Phone: 505-986-4375
Email: sander.rue@nmlegis.gov

Senator John M. Sapien
Phone: 505-986-4834
Email: john.sapien@nmlegis.gov

Senator Mimi Stewart
Phone: 505-986-4856
Email: mimi.stewart@nmlegis.gov

Senator William E. Sharer
Phone: 505-986-4381
Email: bill@williamsharer.com

 

Back to Breaking News: 2015 Archives