New Hampshire Introduces Bill to Expand Year-of-Manufacture Plates Law

Legislation (H.B. 1183) to expand the range of model year vehicles eligible to use original year-of-manufacture license plates on antique motor vehicles was introduced in New Hampshire. Currently, only 1960 and earlier model year antique vehicles are eligible to use these plates.  Under the bill, eligibility would be expanded to include all 1975 and earlier model years.  

We Urge You to Contact members of the House Transportation Committee (Contact Info Below) Immediately to Request Support for H.B. 1183

  • In New Hampshire, an antique motor vehicle or motorcycle is “any motor vehicle over 25 years old which is maintained for use in exhibitions, club activities, parades and other functions of public interest.”
     
  • Under New Hampshire law, to use year-of manufacture plates the registration plate matching the registration certificate must be carried within the antique motor vehicle. Antique motor vehicles bearing a registration plate with the year of manufacture must also carry, within it, a valid antique motor vehicle registration certificate and permit. 

DON’T DELAY!  Please contact all members of the New Hampshire House Transportation Committee to request support for H.B. 1183.  

Please e-mail a copy of your letter to Steve McDonald at stevem@sema.org.  Also, please forward this Alert to your fellow car enthusiasts.  Urge them to join the SAN and help defend the hobby! Thank you for your assistance. 

New Hampshire House Transportation Committee

To e-mail all Committee members, copy and paste the email address block below:

cwbouchard@aol.com; michael.o'brien@leg.state.nh.us; george.sykes@leg.state.nh.us; brian.rhodes@leg.state.nh.us; timothy.soucy@leg.state.nh.us; chrusir@comcast.net; johnsengladys@gmail.com; dickpatten7@gmail.com; betsy.burtis@leg.state.nh.us; tim.oflaherty@leg.state.nh.us; william.oneil@leg.state.nh.us; sherm_packard@juno.com; john.hikel@leg.state.nh.us; dick.hinch@leg.state.nh.us; brian.chirichiello@verani.com; nhfirst@gmail.com; karel.crawford@leg.state.nh.us; bruce.hodgdon@leg.state.nh.us; phil.straight@leg.state.nh.us

Representative Candace Bouchard (Chair)
Phone: (603)226-2214
 
Representative Michael O'Brien (Vice-Chair)
Phone: (603)888-8051
 
Representative George Sykes
Phone: (603)667-1834
 
Representative Brian Rhodes
Phone: 603-566-7590 
 
Representative Timothy Soucy
Phone: (603)305-5012
 
Representative Carol Williams
Phone: (603)622-2565
 
Representative Gladys Johnsen
Phone: (603)358-5164
 
Representative Dick Patten
Phone: (603)228-1803
 
Representative Elizabeth Burtis
Phone: (603)437-9490
 
Representative Tim O'Flaherty
Phone: (484)706-9559
 
Representative William O'Neil
Phone: (603)644-5277
 
Representative Sherman Packard
Phone: (603)432-3391
 
Representative John Hikel
Phone: (603)860-7891
 
Representative Richard Hinch
Phone: (603)424-9690
 
Representative Brian Chirichiello
Phone: (603)432-0799
 
Representative Steven Smith
Phone: (603)826-5996
 
Representative Karel Crawford
Phone: (603)253-7857
 
Representative Bruce Hodgdon
Phone: (603)942-5264
 
Representative Phillip Straight
Phone: (603)424-2043
 
Representative Thomas Walsh
Phone: (603)623-4104
 

Back to Breaking News: 2014 Archives