New Hampshire Bill to Prohibit Ethanol Blended Gasoline at Levels Greater Than 10%

Legislation (H.B. 1220) that prohibits a person from selling or offering for sale gasoline that contains corn-based ethanol as an additive at a level greater than 10%.  A similar bill was signed into law last year in Maine.   

We Urge You to Contact Members of the House Science, Technology and Energy Committee (List Below) Immediately to Request Support for H.B. 1220

  • H.B. 1220 recognizes that ethanol increases water formation which can then corrode metals and dissolve plastics and rubber, especially over a period of time when the vehicle is not used.  Current high performance specialty parts along with pre-model year 2001 cars and parts may be most susceptible to corrosion.
     
  • H.B. 1220 recognizes that the life span of vehicles and equipment can be dramatically reduced with the wrong fuel and that owners could be confronted with break downs. Anti-corrosion additives are available for each purchase of gasoline but can become expensive, burdensome and require consumer education.
     
  • H.B. 1220 recognizes that there has been an inability to obtain unblended gasoline for engines that may be damaged by ethanol.

DON’T DELAY!  Please contact all members of the New Hampshire House Science, Technology and Energy Committee to request support for H.B. 1220.   Please e-mail a copy of your letter to Steve McDonald at stevem@sema.org.  Also, please forward this Alert to your fellow car enthusiasts.  Urge them to join the SAN and help defend the hobby! Thank you for your assistance. 

New Hampshire House Science, Technology and Energy Committee

To e-mail all Committee members, copy and paste the email address block below:

david@oursustainablenh.com; chuck.townsend@leg.state.nh.us; REIntrone@aol.com; cali0917@aol.com; robert.backus@leg.state.nh.us; ian.raymond@leg.state.nh.us; jim.devine@leg.state.nh.us; pegskip05@hughes.net; david.murotake@leg.state.nh.us; beatriz.pastor@leg.state.nh.us; kenneth.grossman@leg.state.nh.us; marge.shepardson@gmail.com; rapp@lmr.com; herb.vadney@leg.state.nh.us; bill.baber@leg.state.nh.us; john.mann@leg.state.nh.us; lesterbradley@hotmail.com; richard.levasseur@leg.state.nh.us

Representative David Borden (Chair)
Phone: (603)436-4132
 
Representative Chuck Townsend (Vice Chair)
Phone: (603)632-7493
 
Representative Robert Introne
Phone: (603)432-0345
 
Representative Jacqueline Cali-Pitts
Phone: (603)431-7657
 
Representative Robert Backus
Phone: (603)232-0525
 
Representative Ian Raymond
Phone: (603)524-2316
 
Representative James Devine
Phone: (603)887-3569
 
Representative Harold Reilly
Phone: (603)744-3779
 
Representative David Murotake
Phone: (603)889-4568
 
Representative Beatriz Pastor
Phone: (603)795-4315
 
Representative Kenneth Grossman
Phone: (603)664-2268
 
Representative Marge Shepardson
Phone: (603)876-4027
 
Representative Laurence Rappaport
Phone: (603)237-4429
 
Representative Aboul Khan
Phone: (603)474-1496
 
Representative Herbert Vadney
 
Representative William Baber
Phone: (603)749-5969
 
Representative John Mann
Phone: (603)835-9095
 
Representative Amanda Merrill
Phone: (603)868-2491
 
Representative Lester Bradley
Phone: (603)745-8037
 
Representative Richard LeVasseur
Phone: (603)882-3111

Back to Breaking News: 2014 Archives