Pro-Hobbyist Inoperable Vehicle Bill to be Considered by Nevada Assembly

Working with Nevada lawmakers, the SEMA Action Network (SAN) has amended legislation (A.B. 363) that originally threatened to add abandoned, unregistered, inoperable or junk motor vehicles to the list of items that constitute a public nuisance.   Under existing law, counties and cities may remove a public nuisance at the property owner’s expense if, after notice, the property owner does not remove the nuisance.  Under the SAN-drafted amendment, abandoned, inoperable or junk vehicles stored on private property would only require screening from public view.  Unregistered vehicles could not be declared a nuisance under the SAN amendment.  After being approved by the Government Affairs Committee, the bill is pending consideration by the entire Nevada State Assembly. 

We Urge You to Contact All Members of the Nevada Assembly (List Attached Below) Immediately to Request Their Support for A.B. 363

  • A.B. 363 establishes reasonable provisions that vehicles be concealed from public view by means of inside storage, suitable fencing, opaque covering, trees, shrubbery or other means. 
     
  • A.B. 363 would only apply to counties whose population is 700,000 or more. 
     
  • A.B. 363 would permit the maintenance of parts cars as a source of parts for motor vehicles undergoing restoration.
     
  • A.B. 363 provides safeguards for hobbyists to work on vehicles on private property.
     
  • A.B. 363 demonstrates a real effort by legislators and hobbyists to enact reasonable and fair compromise legislation.

DON’T DELAY!  Please contact members of the Nevada State Assembly to request their support for A.B. 363.  Please e-mail a copy of your letter to Steve McDonald at stevem@sema.org.  Also, please forward this Alert to your fellow car enthusiasts.  Urge them to join the SAN and help defend the hobby! Thank you for your assistance. 

Nevada State Assembly

To e-mail all Assembly members, copy and paste the email address block below:

Paul.Aizley@asm.state.nv.us; Elliot.Anderson@asm.state.nv.us; Paul.Anderson@asm.state.nv.us; Teresa.BenitezThompson@asm.state.nv.us; David.Bobzien@asm.state.nv.us; Irene.BustamanteAdams@asm.state.nv.us; Maggie.Carlton@asm.state.nv.us; Richard.Carrillo@asm.state.nv.us; Lesley.Cohen@asm.state.nv.us; Skip.Daly@asm.state.nv.us; Olivia.Diaz@asm.state.nv.us; Marilyn.DonderoLoop@asm.state.nv.us; Wesley.Duncan@asm.state.nv.us; Andy.Eisen@asm.state.nv.us; John.Ellison@asm.state.nv.us; Michele.Fiore@asm.state.nv.us; Lucy.Flores@asm.state.nv.us; Jason.Frierson@asm.state.nv.us; Tom.Grady@asm.state.nv.us; John.Hambrick@asm.state.nv.us; Ira.Hansen@asm.state.nv.us; Cresent.Hardy@asm.state.nv.us; James.Healey@asm.state.nv.us; Pat.Hickey@asm.state.nv.us; Joe.Hogan@asm.state.nv.us; William.Horne@asm.state.nv.us; Marilyn.Kirkpatrick@asm.state.nv.us; Randy.Kirner@asm.state.nv.us; Pete.Livermore@asm.state.nv.us; Andrew.Martin@asm.state.nv.us; Harvey.Munford@asm.state.nv.us; Dina.Neal@asm.state.nv.us; James.Ohrenschall@asm.state.nv.us; James.Oscarson@asm.state.nv.us; Peggy.Pierce@asm.state.nv.us; Ellen.Spiegel@asm.state.nv.us; Mike.Sprinkle@asm.state.nv.us; Lynn.Stewart@asm.state.nv.us; Heidi.Swank@asm.state.nv.us; Jim.Wheeler@asm.state.nv.us; Melissa.Woodbury@asm.state.nv.us

Back to Breaking News: 2013 Archives