Nevada Bill to Restrict Eligibility for Classic Vehicle Registration to be Considered on Thursday, March 26, 2015 (ACT NOW!)

URGENT LEGISLATIVE ALERT (UPDATE)
 

Nevada Bill to Restrict Eligibility for Classic Vehicle Registration to be Considered on Thursday, March 26, 2015 (ACT NOW!)

Legislation (A.B. 326) to drastically alter the requirements for vehicles eligible for registration as a “classic vehicle” will be considered by the Nevada Transportation Committee on Thursday, March 26, 2015.  Despite our efforts to find a compromise, the bill sponsor Assemblymember Richard Carrillo (Richard.Carrillo@asm.state.nv.us) is insisting on moving his bill as it is currently written.  Under the bill, the special plates would only be allowed for passenger cars and require that owners provide proof satisfactory to the state that the vehicle is driven solely for personal use and not more than 5,000 miles during an annual registration period.  The owner would also be required to have another passenger car or motorcycle registered during the entire registration period.  The bill also would now exclude light commercial vehicles from eligibility.

We Urge You to Call Members of the Nevada Assembly Transportation Committee (List Attached Below) Immediately to Request Their Opposition to A.B. 326

  • Existing law already requires that classic vehicles have a manufacturer’s rated carrying capacity of 1 ton or less; were manufactured at least 25 years ago; and contain only the original parts which were used to manufacture the vehicle or replacement parts that duplicate those original parts.
     
  • A.B. 326 makes it more difficult for legitimate classic vehicles to travel long distances for car shows, tours and other events.  These cars are already used primarily club activities, exhibitions, tours, parades and occasional pleasure driving.
     
  • A.B. 326 makes no provision for “grandfathering” existing classic vehicles and allowing them to retain their classic status.
     
  • A.B. 326 would deny currently eligible cars from existing benefits, including the special license plate and exemptions from emissions requirements.
     
  • A.B. 326 ignores the fact that classic vehicles in Nevada constitute a small portion of the vehicle fleet and are already well-maintained and infrequently operated.

DON’T DELAY!  Please contact members of the Nevada Assembly Transportation Committee immediately by phone or e-mail to request their opposition to A.B. 326.  Phone calls are best!

Please e-mail a copy of your letter to Steve McDonald at stevem@sema.org.  Also, please forward this Alert to your fellow car enthusiasts.  Urge them to join the SAN and help defend the hobby! Thank you for your assistance. 

Nevada Assembly Transportation Committee

To e-mail all Committee members, copy and paste the email address block below:

Jim.Wheeler@asm.state.nv.us; Jill.Dickman@asm.state.nv.us; Vicki.Dooling@asm.state.nv.us; Michele.Fiore@asm.state.nv.us; Brent.Jones@asm.state.nv.us; PK.Oneill@asm.state.nv.us; Stephen.Silberkraus@asm.state.nv.us; Melissa.Woodbury@asm.state.nv.us; Nelson.Araujo@asm.state.nv.us; Richard.Carrillo@asm.state.nv.us; Edgar.Flores@asm.state.nv.us; Marilyn.Kirkpatrick@asm.state.nv.us; Ellen.Spiegel@asm.state.nv.us; Mike.Sprinkle@asm.state.nv.us

Assemblymember Jim Wheeler (Chair)
Phone: 775-684-8843
Email: Jim.Wheeler@asm.state.nv.us

Assemblymember Jill Dickman (Vice-Chair)
Phone: 775-684-8563
Email: Jill.Dickman@asm.state.nv.us

Assemblymember Victoria A. Dooling
Phone: 775-684-8821
Email: Vicki.Dooling@asm.state.nv.us

Assemblymember Michele Fiore
Phone: 775-684-8829
Email: Michele.Fiore@asm.state.nv.us

Assemblymember Brent A. Jones
Phone: 775-684-8573
Email: Brent.Jones@asm.state.nv.us

Assemblymember P.K. O'Neill
Phone: 775-684-8825
Email: PK.Oneill@asm.state.nv.us

Assemblymember Stephen H. Silberkraus
Phone: 775-684-8855
Email: Stephen.Silberkraus@asm.state.nv.us

Assemblymember Melissa Woodbury
Phone: 775-684-8503
Email: Melissa.Woodbury@asm.state.nv.us

Assemblymember Nelson Araujo
Phone: 775-684-8599
Email: Nelson.Araujo@asm.state.nv.us

Assemblymember Richard Carrillo
Phone: 775-684-8801
Email: Richard.Carrillo@asm.state.nv.us

Assemblymember Edgar Flores
Phone: 775-684-8583
Email: Edgar.Flores@asm.state.nv.us

Assemblymember Marilyn K. Kirkpatrick
Phone: 775-684-8509
Email: Marilyn.Kirkpatrick@asm.state.nv.us

Assemblymember Ellen B. Spiegel
Phone: 775-684-8577
Email: Ellen.Spiegel@asm.state.nv.us

Assemblymember Michael C. Sprinkle
Phone: 775-684-8841
Email: Mike.Sprinkle@asm.state.nv.us

 

Back to Breaking News: 2015 Archives