Nebraska Introduces Bill to Provide Single License Plate for Certain Motor Vehicles

URGENT LEGISLATIVE ALERT
 

Nebraska Introduces Bill to Provide Single License Plate for Certain Motor Vehicles

Legislation (L.B. 53) has been introduced in the Nebraska Legislature to provide for the issuance (for a fee) of a single license plate for passenger cars which were not originally equipped with a bracket on the front of the vehicle to display a license plate.

Please Contact Members of the Nebraska Transportation and Telecommunications Committee (Contact Info Below) to Request Support for L.B. 53

  • L.B. 53 would protect the aesthetic contours of certain vehicles and relieve vehicle owners of the burden and expense of having to create mounting holes on some original bumpers.
  • L.B. 53 provides that a license decal would be issued with the single license plate and would be displayed on the driver's side of the windshield.
  • L.B. 53 provides that owners who request a single license plate and license decal would be charged an additional nonrefundable fee of $100 in addition to the cost of the decal
     
  • L.B. 53, if enacted into law, would take effect on January 1, 2017.

Please contact members of the Nebraska Transportation and Telecommunications Committee by phone or e-mail to request their support for L.B. 53.

Please e-mail a copy of your letters to Steve McDonald at stevem@sema.org.  Also, please forward this Alert to your fellow car enthusiasts.  Urge them to join the SAN and help defend the hobby! Thank you for your assistance. 

Nebraska Transportation and Telecommunications Committee

To e-mail all Committee members, copy and paste the email address block below:

jsmith@leg.ne.gov; lbrasch@leg.ne.gov; adavis@leg.ne.gov; cfriesen@leg.ne.gov; tgarrett@leg.ne.gov; bmccoy@leg.ne.gov; jmurante@leg.ne.gov; lseiler@leg.ne.gov

Senator Jim Smith (Chair)
Phone: (402) 471-2730
Email: jsmith@leg.ne.gov

Senator Lydia Brasch
Phone: (402) 471-2728
Email: lbrasch@leg.ne.gov

Senator Al Davis
Phone: (402) 471-2628
Email: adavis@leg.ne.gov

Senator Curt Friesen
Phone: (402) 471-2630
Email: cfriesen@leg.ne.gov

Senator Tommy Garrett
Phone: (402) 471-2627
Email: tgarrett@leg.ne.gov

Senator Beau McCoy
Phone: (402) 471-2885
Email: bmccoy@leg.ne.gov

Senator John Murante
Phone: (402) 471-2725
Email: jmurante@leg.ne.gov

Senator Les Seiler
Phone: (402) 471-2712
Email: lseiler@leg.ne.gov

 

Back to Breaking News: 2015 Archives