Nebraska Introduces Bill to Exempt Historic Automobile Museums from Certain Taxes

 

A bill (LB 809) has been introduced in the Nebraska State Legislature to exempt purchases made by historic automobile museums from sales and use taxes.  The bill is pending in the Revenue Committee for consideration.        

We Urge You to Contact Members of the Revenue Committee (List Attached) Immediately To Request Their Support for LB 809

  • Historic automobile museum is a museum that is used to maintain and exhibit a collection of at least two hundred motor vehicles and was open to the public an average of four or more hours per week during the previous calendar year.
     
  • LB 809 would exempt these museums from sales and use taxes on the gross receipts from the sale, lease, or rental of and the storage, use, or other consumption of purchases of items which are displayed or held for display and which are related to the general purpose of the museum.

DON’T DELAY!  Please contact members of the Nebraska Revenue Committee immediately to request their support of LB 809.  

Please e-mail a copy of your letter to Steve McDonald at stevem@sema.org.  Also, please forward this Alert to your fellow car enthusiasts.  Urge them to join the SAN and help defend the hobby! Thank you for your assistance.

Nebraska Revenue Committee

To e-mail all Committee members, copy and paste the email address block below:

ghadley@leg.ne.gov; thansen@leg.ne.gov; bharr@leg.ne.gov; cjanssen@leg.ne.gov; bmccoy@leg.ne.gov; ppirsch@leg.ne.gov; pschumacher@leg.ne.gov;

Senator Galen Hadley (Chair)
Phone: (402) 471-2726
Email: ghadley@leg.ne.gov

Senator Thomas Hansen
Phone: (402) 471-2729
Email: thansen@leg.ne.gov

Senator Burke Harr
Phone: (402) 471-2722
Email: bharr@leg.ne.gov

Senator Charlie Janssen
Phone: (402) 471-2625
Email: cjanssen@leg.ne.gov

Senator Beau McCoy
Phone: (402) 471-2885
Email: bmccoy@leg.ne.gov

Senator Pete Pirsch
Phone: (402) 471-2621
Email: ppirsch@leg.ne.gov

Senator Paul Schumacher
Phone: (402) 471-2715
Email: pschumacher@leg.ne.gov

Senator Kate Sullivan
Phone: (402) 471-2631
Email: ksullivan@leg.ne.gov 

 

Back to Breaking News: 2014 Archives