Missouri Bill to Permanently Register Historic Camping or Fifth Wheel Trailers Approved by Transportation Committee

 

DON’T DELAY!  Please request support for H.B. 1425/ H.B. 1400 immediately from the Missouri House Select Committee on State and Local Governments (Full List Below) by emailing now:

You may use the following points in your message:

  • H.B. 1400 and 1425 allow a camping or fifth-wheel trailer more than 25-years old to be permanently registered for a one-time $25 fee. 
     
  • H.B. 1400 and 1425 allow those possessing a year of manufacture license plate more than 25 years old to use the plate as a historic trailer plate if the configuration of letters and numbers have not been issued to someone else. 
     
  • H.B. 1400 and 1425 provides that the owner of the historic trailer must keep the certificate of registration in the trailer at all times.
  • A camping trailer is “a vehicle mounted on wheels and constructed with collapsible partial side walls that fold for towing by another vehicle and unfold at the campsite to provide temporary living quarters for recreational, camping or travel use.”
  • A fifth-wheel trailer is “a vehicle, mounted on wheels, designed to provide temporary living quarters for recreational, camping or travel use, of such size or weight as to not require a special highway movement permit, of gross trailer area not to exceed four hundred square feet (37.2m2) in the set-up mode, and designed to be towed by a motorized vehicle that contains a towing mechanism that is mounted above or forward of the tow vehicle's rear axle.”

Overview:  Legislation (H.B. 1425 and 1425) allow a camping or fifth-wheel trailer more than 25-years old to be permanently registered for a $25 fee was approved by the House Transportation Committee.  The bill also allows those possessing a year of manufacture license plate more than 25 years old to use the plate as a historic trailer plate if the configuration of letters and numbers have not been issued to someone else. Under the bill, the owner of the historic trailer must keep the certificate of registration in the trailer at all times.  The bill will now be considered by the House Select Committee on State and Local Governments.


 

 

Missouri House Select Committee on State and Local Governments

Representative Sheila Solon (R)                      
Email: Sheila.Solon@house.mo.gov

Representative Joe Adams (D)            
Email: Joe.Adams@house.mo.gov

Representative Stacey Newman (D)                
Email: Stacey.Newman@house.mo.gov

Representative Glen Kolkmeyer (R)               
Email: Glen.Kolkmeyer@house.mo.gov

Representative Justin Alferman (R)                
Email: Justin.Alferman@house.mo.gov

Representative Rochelle Walton Gray (D)                  
Email: Rochelle.Gray@house.mo.gov

Representative Sue Entlicher (R)                    
Email: Sue.Entlicher@house.mo.gov

Representative Dave Hinson (R)                     
Email: Dave.Hinson@house.mo.gov

Representative Donna Pfautsch (R)                
Email: Donna.Pfautsch@house.mo.gov

Representative Shawn Rhoads (R)                  
Email: Shawn.Rhoads@house.mo.gov

 

Back to Breaking News: 2016 Archives