Missouri Bill to Permanently Register Historic Camping or Fifth Wheel Trailers to be Considered on February 2, 2016

 

DON’T DELAY!  Please request support for H.B. 1425 immediately from the Missouri House Transportation Committee (Full List Below) by emailing now:

You may use the following points in your message:

  • H.B. 1400 and 1425 allow a camping or fifth-wheel trailer more than 25-years old to be permanently registered for a one-time $25 fee. 
     
  • H.B. 1400 and 1425 allow those possessing a year of manufacture license plate more than 25 years old to use the plate as a historic trailer plate if the configuration of letters and numbers have not been issued to someone else. 
     
  • H.B. 1400 and 1425 provides that the owner of the historic trailer must keep the certificate of registration in the trailer at all times.
  • A camping trailer is “a vehicle mounted on wheels and constructed with collapsible partial side walls that fold for towing by another vehicle and unfold at the campsite to provide temporary living quarters for recreational, camping or travel use.”
  • A fifth-wheel trailer is “a vehicle, mounted on wheels, designed to provide temporary living quarters for recreational, camping or travel use, of such size or weight as to not require a special highway movement permit, of gross trailer area not to exceed four hundred square feet (37.2m2) in the set-up mode, and designed to be towed by a motorized vehicle that contains a towing mechanism that is mounted above or forward of the tow vehicle's rear axle.”

Overview: Legislation (H.B. 1425) to allow a camping or fifth-wheel trailer more than 25-years old to be permanently registered for a $25 fee will be considered by the House Transportation Committee on February 2, 2016.  The bill also allows those possessing a year of manufacture license plate more than 25 years old to use the plate as a historic trailer plate if the configuration of letters and numbers have not been issued to someone else. Under the bill, the owner of the historic trailer must keep the certificate of registration in the trailer at all times.


 

 

Missouri House Transportation Committee

Representative Glen Kolkmeyer              
Glen.Kolkmeyer@house.mo.gov

Representative Bart Korman     
Bart.Korman@house.mo.gov

Representative Joe Adams         
Joe.Adams@house.mo.gov

Representative Bob Burns          
Bob.Burns@house.mo.gov

Representative Sue Entlicher    
Sue.Entlicher@house.mo.gov

Representative Lincoln Hough  
Lincoln.Hough@house.mo.gov

Representative Caleb Jones       
Caleb.Jones@house.mo.gov

Representative Bill Lant
Bill.Lant@house.mo.gov

Representative Kirk Mathews   
Kirk.Mathews@house.mo.gov

Representative Karla May           
Karla.May@house.mo.gov

Representative Tom McDonald
Tom.McDonald@house.mo.gov

Representative Rebecca Roeber              
Rebecca.Roeber@house.mo.gov

Representative Donald Rone     
Don.Rone@house.mo.gov

 

Back to Breaking News: 2016 Archives