Massachusetts Bill to Require Warranty Disclosure to be Considered on Tuesday, December 1, 2015

URGENT LEGISLATIVE ALERT (UPDATE)
 

Massachusetts Introduces Bill to Require Warranty Disclosure  

Legislation (H.B. 3810) to require new car dealers to provide purchasers a written statement declaring it is illegal for manufacturers or dealers to void a warranty or deny coverage because aftermarket or recycled parts were installed or because someone other than the dealer performed service will be considered by the Joint Committee on Consumer Protection on Tues., Dec. 1, 2015. 

If You Have Not Done So Already, We Urge You to Contact All Members of the Joint Committee on Consumer Protection and Professional Licensure(Contact Info Below) Immediately to Request Support for H.B. 3810

  • The Magnuson-Moss Warranty Act regulates warranties for the protection of consumers and provides that vehicle manufacturers may not deny warranty coverage based on the use of an aftermarket part alone.
  • In December 2010, the Federal Trade Commission issued an Alert stating that the manufacturer or dealer must show that the aftermarket equipment caused the need for repairs before denying warranty coverage.
  • Consumers are generally unaware of the rights afforded them under the law and many are forced to absorb the costs for repairs that were properly covered under the warranty.  H.B. 3810 would simply provide that consumers be made aware in ten-point boldface type of these basic rights.

DON’T DELAY! Please contact members of the Joint Committee on Consumer Protection and Professional Licensure to request support for H.B. 3810.

Please e-mail a copy of your letter to Steve McDonald at stevem@sema.org.  Also, please forward this Alert to your fellow car enthusiasts.  Urge them to join the SAN and help defend the hobby! Thank you for your assistance. 

Massachusetts Joint Committee on Consumer Protection and Professional Licensure

To e-mail all Committee members, copy and paste the email address block below:

Anthony.Petruccelli@masenate.gov; barbara.l'italien@masenate.gov; Kathleen.OConnorIves@masenate.gov; James.Timilty@masenate.gov; Michael.Rodrigues@masenate.gov; Ryan.Fattman@masenate.gov; Jennifer.Benson@mahouse.gov; Frank.Moran@mahouse.gov; James.Arciero@mahouse.gov; Jon.Zlotnik@mahouse.gov; RoseLee.Vincent@mahouse.gov; Jose.Tosado@mahouse.gov; joseph.mckenna@mahouse.gov; Tackey.Chan@mahouse.gov; Daniel.Hunt@mahouse.gov; Evandro.Carvalho@mahouse.gov; Steven.Howitt@mahouse.gov;

Senator Barbara L'Italien (Chair)
Phone:617-722-1612
Email: barbara.l'italien@masenate.gov    

Senator Anthony W. Petruccelli
Phone:617-722-1634
Email: Anthony.Petruccelli@masenate.gov

Senator Kathleen O'Connor Ives
Phone:617-722-1604
Email: Kathleen.OConnorIves@masenate.gov

Senator James E. Timilty
Phone:617 722-1222
Email: James.Timilty@masenate.gov

Senator Michael J. Rodrigues
Phone:617-722-1114
Email: Michael.Rodrigues@masenate.gov

Senator Ryan C. Fattman
Phone:617-722-1420
Email: Ryan.Fattman@masenate.gov

Representative Jennifer E. Benson
Phone: 617-722-2014
Email: Jennifer.Benson@mahouse.gov

Representative Frank A. Moran
Phone: 617-722-2017
Email:  Frank.Moran@mahouse.gov

Representative James Arciero
Phone: 617-722-2019
Email: James.Arciero@mahouse.gov

Representative Jonathan D. Zlotnik
Phone: 617-722-2080
Email: Jon.Zlotnik@mahouse.gov

Representative RoseLee Vincent
Phone: 617-722-2210
Email: RoseLee.Vincent@mahouse.gov

Representative Jose F. Tosado
Phone: 617-722-2320
Email: Jose.Tosado@mahouse.gov

Representative Joseph D. McKenna
Phone: 617-722-2060
Email: joseph.mckenna@mahouse.gov

Representative Tackey Chan
Phone: 617-722-2080
Email: Tackey.Chan@mahouse.gov

Representative Daniel J. Hunt
Phone: 617-722-2263
Email: Daniel.Hunt@mahouse.gov

Representative Evandro C. Carvalho
Phone: 617-722-2460
Email: Evandro.Carvalho@mahouse.gov

Representative Steven S. Howitt
Phone: 617-722-2305
Email: Steven.Howitt@mahouse.gov

Back to Breaking News: 2015 Archives