Massachusetts Again Reintroduces Bill to Ban the Use/Sale of Aftermarket Exhaust Systems; Committee Hearing Schedule for Sept. 24

 

A bill (H.B. 3149) to ban the “use and sale of any exhaust pipe that increases the sound emission of any vehicle including motorcycles” has been reintroduced in the Massachusetts State Legislature by Representative Theodore Speliotis (Theodore.Speliotis@mahouse.gov).  Identical bills were introduced in 2009 and 2011 by the same sponsor.  On both previous occasions, the bill was set aside for study without any committee consideration.  H.B. 3149 will be considered by the Massachusetts Joint Transportation Committee on Tuesday, September 24, 2013.

We Urge You to Contact the Members of the Joint Transportation Committee (List Below) Immediately to Request Their Opposition to H.B. 3149

  • H.B. 3149 ignores the fact that aftermarket exhaust systems are designed to make vehicles run more efficiently without increasing emissions.
     
  • H.B. 3149 only supplies law enforcement with a clear standard to enforce for motorcycles, allowing them to make subjective judgments on whether a modified exhaust system on any other motor vehicle is in violation.
     
  • H.B. 3149 fails to recognize that aftermarket exhaust systems offer increased performance without increasing emissions, which can make a vehicle safer by improving its ability to merge, pass, travel uphill, etc.
     
  • H.B. 3149 would make it difficult for hobbyists to replace factory exhaust systems with more durable, better performing options.

DON’T DELAY Please contact members of the Massachusetts Joint Transportation Committee immediately by phone or e-mail to request their opposition to H.B. 3149.  Please e-mail a copy of your letter to Steve McDonald at stevem@sema.org.  Thank you for your assistance. 

Massachusetts Joint Transportation Committee

To e-mail all Committee members, copy and paste the email address block below:

Thomas.McGee@masenate.gov; William.Straus@mahouse.gov; Thomas.P.Kennedy@masenate.gov; John.Mahoney@mahouse.gov; Gale.Candaras@masenate.gov; Marc.Pacheco@masenate.gov; Robert.Hedlund@masenate.gov; Michael.Moore@masenate.gov; Mike.Rush@masenate.gov; John.Fernandes@mahouse.gov; Timothy.Madden@mahouse.gov; Mark.Cusack@mahouse.gov; Christopher.Markey@mahouse.gov; Chris.Walsh@mahouse.gov; Peter.Durant@mahouse.gov; Danielle.Gregoire@mahouse.gov; Gailanne.Cariddi@mahouse.gov; Michael.Finn@mahouse.gov; Jerald.Parisella@mahouse.gov; steven.howitt@mahouse.gov

Senator Thomas McGee (Senate Chair)
Phone: 617-722-1350
 
Representative Williams Straus (House Chair)
Phone: 617-722-2400
 
Senator Thomas Kennedy (Senate Vice-Chair)
Phone: 617-722-1200
 
Representative John Mahoney (House Vice-Chair)
Phone: 617-722-2400
 
Senator Gale Candaras
Phone: 617-722-1291
 
Senator Marc Pacheco
Phone: 617-722-1551
 
Senator Robert Hedlund
Phone: 617-722-1646
 
Senator Michael Moore
Phone: 617-722-1485
 
Senator Michael Rush
Phone: 617-722-1348
 
Representative John Fernandes
Phone: 617-722-2220
 
Representative Timothy Madden
Phone: 617-722-2810
 
Representative Mark Cusack
Phone: 617-722-2637
 
Representative Christopher Markey
Phone: 617-722-2396
 
Representative Chris Walsh
Phone: 617-722-2013
 
Representative Peter Durant
Phone: 617-722-2060
 
Representative Danielle Gregoire
Phone: 617-722-2460
 
Representative Gailanne Cariddi
Phone: 617-722-2450
 
Representative Michael Finn
Phone: 617-722-2637
 
Representative Jerald Parisella
Phone: 617-722-2877
 
Representative Steven Howitt
Phone: 617-722-2305

Back to Breaking News: 2013 Archives