REMINDER: Maryland Bill to Restrict Eligibility for Historic Vehicle Registration to be Heard in Committee on Tues., Mar. 4, 2014

URGENT LEGISLATIVE ALERT (UPDATE)
 

REMINDER: Maryland Bill to Restrict Eligibility for Historic Vehicle Registration to be Heard in Committee on Tues., Mar. 4, 2014

Legislation (H.B. 1290) to increase the age requirement for vehicles eligible for registration as “historic motor vehicles” will be heard in the House Environmental Matters Committee on Tuesday, March 4, 2014.  Under the bill, the age requirement would be raised from 20 to at least 25 years old, require that an historic vehicle be insured by an historic vehicle, show vehicle or antique insurance policy and require that the owner have a “daily driver” vehicle registered in Maryland.  The SEMA Action Network (SAN) is currently attempting to reach a fair compromise by working with the bill’s sponsor, Delegate Herb McMillan.  We expect to see an amended version of the bill that reflects this compromise on Monday, March 3.  We will notify you of the specifics of this compromise as soon as they are finalized.

For those interested in attending, the details of the hearing follow below:

H.B. 1290
Tuesday, March, 4 at 1:00 p.m.
House Environmental Matter Committee
Room 251, House Office Building
6 Bladen Street
Annapolis, MD 21401

For Those Unable to Testify, We Urge You to Contact Members of the Maryland House Environmental Matters Committee (List Attached Below) Immediately to Request Their Opposition to H.B. 1290

  • H.B. 1290 makes it more difficult to register legitimate historic vehicles, which are already limited to club activities, exhibitions, tours, parades and occasional pleasure driving.
     
  • H.B. 1290 would deny vehicles 20-25 years old from certain benefits, including the special historic license plate and exemptions from equipment and emissions inspection requirements.
     
  • H.B. 1290 mandates specified insurance policies without legitimate cause.
     
  • H.B. 1290 ignores the fact that historic vehicles in Maryland constitute a small portion of the vehicle fleet and are already well-maintained and infrequently operated.

DON’T DELAY!  Please contact members of the Maryland House Environmental Matters Committee immediately by phone or e-mail to request their opposition to H.B. 1290.  Please e-mail a copy of your letter to Steve McDonald at stevem@sema.org.  Also, please forward this Alert to your fellow car enthusiasts.  Urge them to join the SAN and help defend the hobby! Thank you for your assistance. 

Maryland House Environmental Matters Committee

To e-mail all Committee members, copy and paste the email address block below:

maggie.mcintosh@house.state.md.us; james.malone@house.state.md.us; pamela.beidle@house.state.md.us; elizabeth.bobo@house.state.md.us; rudolph.cane@house.state.md.us; alfred.carr@house.state.md.us; david.fraser.hidalgo@house.state.md.us; barbara.frush@house.state.md.us; jim.gilchrist@house.state.md.us; anne.healey@house.state.md.us; patrick.hogan@house.state.md.us; marvin.holmes@house.state.md.us; jay.jacobs@house.state.md.us; stephen.lafferty@house.state.md.us; herb.mcmillan@house.state.md.us; doyle.niemann@house.state.md.us; wayne.norman@house.state.md.us; anthony.odonnell@house.state.md.us; charles.otto@house.state.md.us; shane.robinson@house.state.md.us; dana.stein@house.state.md.us; cathy.vitale@house.state.md.us; michael.weir@house.state.md.us; ct.wilson@house.state.md.us

Delegate Maggie McIntosh (Chair)
Phone: 410-841-3990
 
Delegate James E. Malone Jr. (Vice Chair)
Phone: 410-841-3378
 
Delegate Pamela Beidle
Phone: 410-841-3370
 
Delegate Elizabeth Bobo
Phone: 410-841-3205
 
Delegate Rudolph Cane
Phone: 410-841-3427
 
Delegate Alfred Carr Jr.
Phone: 301-858-3638
 
Delegate David Fraser-Hidalgo
Phone: 301-858-3186
 
Delegate Barbara Frush
Phone: 410-841-3114
 
Delegate Jim Gilchrist
Phone: 301-858-3744
 
Delegate Anne Healey
Phone: 301-858-3961
 
Delegate Patrick Hogan
Phone: 301-858-3240
 
Delegate Marvin Holmes Jr.
Phone: 301-858-3310
 
Delegate Jay Jacobs
Phone: 410-841-3449
 
Delegate Stephen Lafferty
Phone: 410-841-3487
 
Delegate Herb McMillan
Phone: 410-841-3211
 
Delegate Doyle Niemann
Phone: 301-858-3326
 
Delegate H. Wayne Norman Jr.
Phone: 410-841-3284
 
Delegate Anthony O’Donnell
Phone: 410-841-3314
 
Delegate Charles Otto
Phone: 301-858-3433
 
Delegate Shane Robinson
Phone: 301-858-3021
 
Delegate Dana Stein
Phone: 410-841-3527
 
Delegate Cathy Vitale
Phone: 410-841-3510
 
Delegate Michael Weir Jr.
Phone: 410-841-3328
 
Delegate C.T. Wilson
Phone: 410-841-3325

 

Back to Breaking News: 2014 Archives