Maryland Senate Bill to Increase Age Requirement for Historic Vehicle Registration to be Considered on Tuesday, March 24, 2015

URGENT LEGISLATIVE ALERT (UPDATE)
 

Maryland Senate Bill to Increase Age Requirement for Historic Vehicle Registration to be Considered on Tuesday, March 24, 2015

The Senate version of legislation (S.B. 782) to increase the age requirement for vehicles eligible for registration as “historic motor vehicles” will be considered in the Senate Judicial Proceedings Committee on Tuesday, March 24, 2015.  Under the bill, the age requirement would be raised from 20 to at least 25 years old.  The House version of this bill was heard in committee on March 12, 2015, but no action has yet been taken.  We understand that the hobbyist community in Maryland holds contrasting opinions on this issue.  The SEMA Action Network (SAN) has chosen to oppose these bills.

We Urge You to Contact Members of the Senate Judicial Proceedings Committee (List Attached Below) Immediately to Voice Your Opinion on S.B. 782

  • S.B. 782 makes it more difficult to register legitimate historic vehicles, which are already limited to club activities, exhibitions, tours, parades and occasional pleasure driving.
     
  • S.B. 782 would deny vehicles 20-25 years old from certain benefits, including the special historic license plate and exemptions from equipment and emissions inspection requirements.
     
  • S.B. 782 would strip current historic vehicles 20-25 years old from that designation.

DON’T DELAY!  Please contact members of the Senate Judicial Proceedings Committee immediately by phone or e-mail to voice your opinion on S.B. 782.    

Please e-mail a copy of your letter to Steve McDonald at stevem@sema.org.  Also, please forward this Alert to your fellow car enthusiasts.  Urge them to join the SAN and help defend the hobby! Thank you for your assistance. 

Maryland Senate Judicial Proceedings Committee

To e-mail all Committee members, copy and paste the email address block below:

bobby.zirkin@senate.state.md.us; lisa.gladden@senate.state.md.us; jim.brochin@senate.state.md.us; Bob.Cassilly@senate.state.md.us; michael.hough@senate.state.md.us; susan.lee@senate.state.md.us; anthony.muse@senate.state.md.us; wayne.norman@senate.state.md.us; victor.ramirez@senate.state.md.us; jamie.raskin@senate.state.md.us; justin.ready@senate.state.md.us

Senator Bobby Zirkin (Chair)
Phone: 410-841-3131
Email: bobby.zirkin@senate.state.md.us

Senator Lisa Gladden (Vice-Chair)
Phone: 410-841-3697
Email: lisa.gladden@senate.state.md.us

Senator James Brochin
Phone: 410-841-3648
Email: jim.brochin@senate.state.md.us

Senator Robert Cassilly
Phone: 410-841-3158
Email: Bob.Cassilly@senate.state.md.us

Senator Michael Hough
Phone: 410-841-3704
Email: michael.hough@senate.state.md.us

Senator Susan Lee
Phone: 410-841-3124
Email: susan.lee@senate.state.md.us

Senator Anthony Muse
Phone: 410-841-3092
Email: anthony.muse@senate.state.md.us

Senator Wayne Norman
Phone: 410-841-3603
Email: wayne.norman@senate.state.md.us

Senator Victor Ramirez
Phone: 410-841-3745
Email: victor.ramirez@senate.state.md.us

Senator Jamie Raskin
Phone: 410-841-3634
Email: jamie.raskin@senate.state.md.us

Senator Justin Ready
Phone: 410-841-3683
Email: justin.ready@senate.state.md.us

 

Back to Breaking News: 2015 Archives