Maryland House Bill to Increase Age Requirement for Historic Vehicle Registration Moves to Senate (ACT NOW!)

URGENT LEGISLATIVE ALERT (UPDATE)
 

Maryland House Bill to Increase Age Requirement for Historic Vehicle Registration Moves to Senate (ACT NOW!)

Legislation (H.B. 811) to increase the age requirement for vehicles eligible for registration as “historic motor vehicles” in Maryland was amended and approved by the full House of Delegates.  Under the amended bill, the age requirement would be raised from 20 to at least 30 years old. The bill is now pending in the Senate Judicial Proceedings Committee.  This bill is moving quickly!  If you haven’t contacted Senate Committee members to oppose this bill, you must act now or we risk this bill becoming law.

We Urge You to Call Members of the Senate Judicial Proceedings Committee (List Attached Below) Immediately to Request Their Opposition to H.B. 811

  • H.B. 811 makes it more difficult to register legitimate historic vehicles, which are already limited to club activities, exhibitions, tours, parades and occasional pleasure driving.
     
  • H.B. 811 would deny all 20 – 30 year old vehicles from certain benefits, including the special historic license plate, reduced registration fees and exemptions from equipment and emissions inspection requirements.  The state is focused on collecting additional registration revenues at the expense of historic vehicle owners.
     
  • H.B. 811 seeks to address unsubstantiated claims of abuse without providing any real data. The MVA is already authorized by regulation to suspend the registration of any historic vehicle for use that is inconsistent with the registration requirements.

DON’T DELAY!  Please contact members of the Maryland Senate Judicial Proceedings Committee immediately by phone or e-mail to request opposition to H.B. 811.  Phone calls are best!    

Please e-mail a copy of your letter to Steve McDonald at stevem@sema.org.  Also, please forward this Alert to your fellow car enthusiasts.  Urge them to join the SAN and help defend the hobby! Thank you for your assistance. 

Maryland Senate Judicial Proceedings Committee

To e-mail all Committee members, copy and paste the email address block below:

bobby.zirkin@senate.state.md.us; lisa.gladden@senate.state.md.us; jim.brochin@senate.state.md.us; Bob.Cassilly@senate.state.md.us; michael.hough@senate.state.md.us; susan.lee@senate.state.md.us; anthony.muse@senate.state.md.us; wayne.norman@senate.state.md.us; victor.ramirez@senate.state.md.us; jamie.raskin@senate.state.md.us; justin.ready@senate.state.md.us

Senator Bobby Zirkin (Chair)
Phone: 410-841-3131
Email: bobby.zirkin@senate.state.md.us

Senator Lisa Gladden (Vice-Chair)
Phone: 410-841-3697
Email: lisa.gladden@senate.state.md.us

Senator James Brochin
Phone: 410-841-3648
Email: jim.brochin@senate.state.md.us

Senator Robert Cassilly
Phone: 410-841-3158
Email: Bob.Cassilly@senate.state.md.us

Senator Michael Hough
Phone: 410-841-3704
Email: michael.hough@senate.state.md.us

Senator Susan Lee
Phone: 410-841-3124
Email: susan.lee@senate.state.md.us

Senator Anthony Muse
Phone: 410-841-3092
Email: anthony.muse@senate.state.md.us

Senator Wayne Norman
Phone: 410-841-3603
Email: wayne.norman@senate.state.md.us

Senator Victor Ramirez
Phone: 410-841-3745
Email: victor.ramirez@senate.state.md.us

Senator Jamie Raskin
Phone: 410-841-3634
Email: jamie.raskin@senate.state.md.us

Senator Justin Ready
Phone: 410-841-3683
Email: justin.ready@senate.state.md.us

 

Back to Breaking News: 2015 Archives