Maryland Bills to Provide for Single License Plate Introduced in House

Legislation (H.B. 562) has been introduced in the Maryland House of Delegates to require the issuance of only a single license plate for motor vehicles.  The bill, favored by state hobbyists, requires that the single registration plate be attached on the front of tractors and on the rear of all other vehicles.  A second bill (H.B. 577) provides that for vehicles required to display two registration plates, the front plate may be stored inside the vehicle if the vehicle was manufactured without a means to secure and display a front plate.  Both bills will be considered by the House Environmental Matters Committee on Tuesday, February 19, 2013.

We Urge You to Contact Members of the House Environmental Matters Committee (Contact Info Below) Immediately to Request Support for H.B. 562 and H.B. 577

  • H.B. 562 would save money, conserve resources and bring Maryland in line with other states that have moved to a single plate requirement. 
     
  • H.B. 577 would protect the aesthetic contours of collector cars and relieve vehicle owners of the burden of having to create mounting holes on some original bumpers.

DON’T DELAY!  Please contact members of the Maryland House Environmental Matters Committee immediately by phone or e-mail to request their support for H.B. 562 and H.B. 577.  

Please e-mail a copy of your letter to Steve McDonald at stevem@sema.org.  Also, please forward this Alert to your fellow car enthusiasts.  Urge them to join the SAN and help defend the hobby! Thank you for your assistance.

Maryland House Environmental Matters Committee

To e-mail all Committee members, copy and paste the email address block below:

maggie.mcintosh@house.state.md.us; james.malone@house.state.md.us; pamela.beidle@house.state.md.us; elizabeth.bobo@house.state.md.us; rudolph.cane@house.state.md.us; alfred.carr@house.state.md.us; barbara.frush@house.state.md.us; jim.gilchrist@house.state.md.us; cheryl.glenn@house.state.md.us; anne.healey@house.state.md.us; patrick.hogan@house.state.md.us; marvin.holmes@house.state.md.us; jay.jacobs@house.state.md.us; stephen.lafferty@house.state.md.us; herb.mcmillan@house.state.md.us; doyle.niemann@house.state.md.us; wayne.norman@house.state.md.us; anthony.odonnell@house.state.md.us; charles.otto@house.state.md.us; shane.robinson@house.state.md.us; dana.stein@house.state.md.us; cathy.vitale@house.state.md.us; michael.weir@house.state.md.us; ct.wilson@house.state.md.us

 

Delegate Maggie McIntosh (Chair)

Phone: 410-841-3990

Email: maggie.mcintosh@house.state.md.us

 

Delegate James E. Malone Jr. (Vice Chair)

Phone: 410-841-3378

Email: james.malone@house.state.md.us

 

Delegate Pamela Beidle

Phone: 410-841-3370

Email: pamela.beidle@house.state.md.us

 

Delegate Elizabeth Bobo

Phone: 410-841-3205

Email: elizabeth.bobo@house.state.md.us

 

Delegate Rudolph Cane

Phone: 410-841-3427

Email: rudolph.cane@house.state.md.us

 

Delegate Alfred Carr Jr.

Phone: 301-858-3638

Email: alfred.carr@house.state.md.us

 

Delegate Barbara Frush

Phone: 410-841-3114

Email: barbara.frush@house.state.md.us

 

Delegate Jim Gilchrist

Phone: 301-858-3744

Email: jim.gilchrist@house.state.md.us

 

Delegate Cheryl Glenn

Phone: 410-841-3257

Email: cheryl.glenn@house.state.md.us

 

Delegate Anne Healey

Phone: 301-858-3961

Email: anne.healey@house.state.md.us

 

Delegate Patrick Hogan

Phone: 301-858-3240

Email: patrick.hogan@house.state.md.us

 

Delegate Marvin Holmes Jr.

Phone: 301-858-3310

Email: marvin.holmes@house.state.md.us

 

Delegate Jay Jacobs

Phone: 410-841-3449

Email: jay.jacobs@house.state.md.us

 

Delegate Stephen Lafferty

Phone: 410-841-3487

Email: stephen.lafferty@house.state.md.us

 

Delegate Herb McMillan

Phone: 410-841-3211

Email: herb.mcmillan@house.state.md.us

 

Delegate Doyle Niemann

Phone: 301-858-3326

Email: doyle.niemann@house.state.md.us

 

Delegate H. Wayne Norman Jr.

Phone: 410-841-3284

Email: wayne.norman@house.state.md.us

 

Delegate Anthony O’Donnell

Phone: 410-841-3314

Email: anthony.odonnell@house.state.md.us

 

Delegate Charles Otto

Phone: 301-858-3433

Email: charles.otto@house.state.md.us

 

Delegate Shane Robinson

Phone: 301-858-3021

Email: shane.robinson@house.state.md.us

 

Delegate Dana Stein

Phone: 410-841-3527

Email: dana.stein@house.state.md.us

 

Delegate Cathy Vitale

Phone: 410-841-3510

Email: cathy.vitale@house.state.md.us

 

Delegate Michael Weir Jr.

Phone: 410-841-3328

Email: michael.weir@house.state.md.us

 

Delegate C.T. Wilson

Phone: 410-841-3325

Email: ct.wilson@house.state.md.us

Back to Breaking News: 2013 Archives