Maryland Bills to Provide for Single License Plate to be Considered on Feb. 5 2015

URGENT LEGISLATIVE ALERT
 

Maryland Bills to Provide for Single License Plate to be Considered on Feb. 5, 2015

Legislation (H.B. 61) has been reintroduced in the Maryland House of Delegates to require the issuance of only a single license plate for all motor vehicles.  A second bill (H.B. 62) provides that historic vehicles and street rods may display only the rear plate if the front plate is stored inside the vehicle.  Both bills will be considered by the House Environment and Transportation Committee on Thursday, February 5, 2015.

We Urge You to Contact Members of the House Environment and Transportation Committee (Contact Info Below) Immediately to Request Support for H.B. 61 and H.B. 62

  • H.B. 61 would save money, conserve resources and bring Maryland in line with other states that have moved to a single plate requirement.
     
  • H.B. 62 would protect the aesthetic contours of collector cars and relieve vehicle owners of the burden of having to create mounting holes on some original bumpers.

DON’T DELAY!  Please contact members of the Maryland House Environment and Transportation Committee immediately by phone or e-mail to request their support for H.B. 61 and H.B. 62.    

Please e-mail a copy of your letter to Steve McDonald at stevem@sema.org.  Also, please forward this Alert to your fellow car enthusiasts.  Urge them to join the SAN and help defend the hobby! Thank you for your assistance. 

Maryland House Environment and Transportation Committee

To e-mail all Committee members, copy and paste the email address block below:

kumar.barve@house.state.md.us; dana.stein@house.state.md.us; Carl.Anderton@house.state.md.us; pamela.beidle@house.state.md.us; alfred.carr@house.state.md.us; Andrew.Cassilly@house.state.md.us; Bob.Flanagan@house.state.md.us; david.fraser.hidalgo@house.state.md.us; barbara.frush@house.state.md.us; jim.gilchrist@house.state.md.us; anne.healey@house.state.md.us; marvin.holmes@house.state.md.us; jay.jacobs@house.state.md.us; Tony.Knotts@house.state.md.us; stephen.lafferty@house.state.md.us; Clarence.Lam@house.state.md.us; Cory.McCray@house.state.md.us; anthony.odonnell@house.state.md.us; charles.otto@house.state.md.us; shane.robinson@house.state.md.us; kathy.szeliga@house.state.md.us; cathy.vitale@house.state.md.us

Delegate Kumar Barve (Chair)
Phone: 410-841-3990
Email: kumar.barve@house.state.md.us

Delegate Dana Stein (Vice-Chair)
Phone: 410-841-3527
Email: dana.stein@house.state.md.us

Delegate Carl Anderton Jr.
Phone: 410-841-3431
Email: Carl.Anderton@house.state.md.us

Delegate Pamela Beidle
Phone: 410-841-3370
Email: pamela.beidle@house.state.md.us

Delegate Alfred Carr Jr.
Phone: 410-841-3638
Email: alfred.carr@house.state.md.us

Delegate Andrew Cassilly
Phone: 410-841-3444
Email: Andrew.Cassilly@house.state.md.us

Delegate Robert Flanagan
Phone: 410-841-3077
Email: Bob.Flanagan@house.state.md.us

Delegate David Fraser-Hidalgo
Phone: 410-841-3186
Email: david.fraser.hidalgo@house.state.md.us

Delegate Barbara Frush
Phone: 410-841-3114
Email: barbara.frush@house.state.md.us

Delegate Jim Gilchrist
Phone: 410-841-3744
Email: jim.gilchrist@house.state.md.us

Delegate Anne Healey
Phone: 410-841-3961
Email: anne.healey@house.state.md.us

Delegate Marvin Holmes Jr.
Phone: 410-841-3310
Email: marvin.holmes@house.state.md.us

Delegate Jay Jacobs
Phone: 410-841-3449
Email: jay.jacobs@house.state.md.us

Delegate Tony Knotts
Phone: 410-841-3212
Email: Tony.Knotts@house.state.md.us

Delegate Stephen Lafferty
Phone: 410-841-3487
Email: stephen.lafferty@house.state.md.us

Delegate Clarence Lam
Phone: 410-841-3205
Email: Clarence.Lam@house.state.md.us

Delegate Cory McCray
Phone: 410-841-3486
Email: Cory.McCray@house.state.md.us

Delegate Anthony O’Donnell
Phone: 410-841-3314
Email: anthony.odonnell@house.state.md.us

Delegate Charles Otto
Phone: 410-841-3433
Email: charles.otto@house.state.md.us

Delegate Shane Robinson
Phone: 410-841-3021
Email: shane.robinson@house.state.md.us

Delegate Kathy Szeliga
Phone: 410-841-3698
Email: kathy.szeliga@house.state.md.us

Delegate Cathy Vitale
Phone: 410-841-3510
Email: cathy.vitale@house.state.md.us

 

Back to Breaking News: 2015 Archives