Maryland Bills to Create Special Vintage Reproduction License Plates Approved by Senate/House

Identical but separate legislation (H.B. 977/S.B. 39) to require the Motor Vehicle Administration (MVA) to provide, for one year, a specially designed vintage reproduction registration plate to qualifying vehicle owners was approved by the Maryland Senate and House.  To fulfill procedural requirements, each bill must now be passed by the other chamber.  Under the bills, to be eligible to receive a vintage reproduction registration plate, the vehicle must be a Class A (passenger), Class E (small truck), Class L (historic), Class M (multipurpose), or Class N (street rod) vehicle. The vintage reproduction plate would be designed to resemble the 1910 Maryland registration plate, which has black lettering on a yellow background. The bill requires MVA to set initial registration and renewal fees.  The Senate bill (S.B. 39) will be considered by the House Environmental Matters Committee on Friday, March 29.

We Urge You to Contact Members of the House Environmental Matters Committee (Contact Info Below) Immediately to Request Support for S.B. 39

  • S.B. 39 would bring a retro look to modern license plates by allowing consumers to use the reproduction 1910 plates.    
     
  • S.B. 39 would give consumers a new option on the license plates to use on their vehicles and provide historic car owners a voluntary means to acquire new plates that match the vintage look of their vehicles.
     
  • S.B. 39 estimates that the additional cost to obtain the plates would be $20 and would take effect January 1, 2014.

DON’T DELAY!  Please contact members of the Maryland House Environmental Matters Committee immediately by e-mail to request their support for S.B. 39.

Please e-mail a copy of your letter to Steve McDonald at stevem@sema.org.  Also, please forward this Alert to your fellow car enthusiasts.  Urge them to join the SAN and help defend the hobby! Thank you for your assistance. 

Maryland House Environmental Matters Committee

To e-mail all Committee members, copy and paste the email address block below:

maggie.mcintosh@house.state.md.us; james.malone@house.state.md.us; pamela.beidle@house.state.md.us; elizabeth.bobo@house.state.md.us; rudolph.cane@house.state.md.us; alfred.carr@house.state.md.us; barbara.frush@house.state.md.us; jim.gilchrist@house.state.md.us; cheryl.glenn@house.state.md.us; anne.healey@house.state.md.us; patrick.hogan@house.state.md.us; marvin.holmes@house.state.md.us; jay.jacobs@house.state.md.us; stephen.lafferty@house.state.md.us; herb.mcmillan@house.state.md.us; doyle.niemann@house.state.md.us; wayne.norman@house.state.md.us; anthony.odonnell@house.state.md.us; charles.otto@house.state.md.us; shane.robinson@house.state.md.us; dana.stein@house.state.md.us; cathy.vitale@house.state.md.us; michael.weir@house.state.md.us; ct.wilson@house.state.md.us

Delegate Maggie McIntosh (Chair)
Phone: 410-841-3990
 
Delegate James E. Malone Jr. (Vice Chair)
Phone: 410-841-3378
 
Delegate Pamela Beidle
Phone: 410-841-3370
 
Delegate Elizabeth Bobo
Phone: 410-841-3205
 
Delegate Rudolph Cane
Phone: 410-841-3427
 
Delegate Alfred Carr Jr.
Phone: 301-858-3638
 
Delegate Barbara Frush
Phone: 410-841-3114
 
Delegate Jim Gilchrist
Phone: 301-858-3744
 
Delegate Cheryl Glenn
Phone: 410-841-3257
 
Delegate Anne Healey
Phone: 301-858-3961
 
Delegate Patrick Hogan
Phone: 301-858-3240
 
Delegate Marvin Holmes Jr.
Phone: 301-858-3310
 
Delegate Jay Jacobs
Phone: 410-841-3449
 
Delegate Stephen Lafferty
Phone: 410-841-3487
 
Delegate Herb McMillan
Phone: 410-841-3211
 
Delegate Doyle Niemann
Phone: 301-858-3326
 
Delegate H. Wayne Norman Jr.
Phone: 410-841-3284
 
Delegate Anthony O’Donnell
Phone: 410-841-3314
 
Delegate Charles Otto
Phone: 301-858-3433
 
Delegate Shane Robinson
Phone: 301-858-3021
 
Delegate Dana Stein
Phone: 410-841-3527
 
Delegate Cathy Vitale
Phone: 410-841-3510
 
Delegate Michael Weir Jr.
Phone: 410-841-3328
 
Delegate C.T. Wilson
Phone: 410-841-3325

Back to Breaking News: 2013 Archives