Maryland Bill to Revise Historic Vehicle Registration Requirements to be Considered on Thursday, January 28, 2016

 

DON’T DELAY!  Please voice opposition for H.B. 58 immediately from the Maryland House Environment and Transportation Committee  (Full List Below) by emailing now:

You may use the following points in your message:

  • H.B. 58 makes it more difficult to register legitimate historic vehicles based on unsubstantiated claims of abuse without providing any real data.  
     
  • H.B. 58 ignores the fact that it is already illegal for a person to drive on any state highway a vehicle that is in unsafe condition. 
     
  • H.B. 58 ignores the fact that the state is already authorized by regulation to suspend the registration of any historic vehicle for use that is inconsistent with the registration requirements.
  • H.B. 58 would force owners of 1986 and newer historic vehicles to incur the cost and inconvenience of periodic inspections while not directly addressing the issue of owners using these limited-use vehicles as daily drivers..   

Overview: Legislation (H.B. 58) to subject historic vehicles of model year 1986 and later to undergo periodic safety inspections will be considered by the House Environment and Transportation Committee on January 28, 2016.  It is unclear how often and under which conditions these inspections would take place.  The bill would also specifically prohibit the use of historic vehicles for employment, transportation to employment or school and for commercial purposes.   Last year, state hobbyists helped derail a bill that would have increased the age requirement for vehicles eligible for registration as historic.  That bill, like this one, sought to address unsubstantiated claims of abuse without providing any real data.  The state is already authorized by regulation to suspend the registration of any historic vehicle for use that is inconsistent with the registration requirements.

The SEMA Action Network (SAN) has chosen to oppose this bill and has offered the sponsor, Delegate Anthony O’Donnell, a proposal that would amend the law simply to require an owner of a historic vehicle to own and have registered one or more vehicles with regular license plates which are used for regular transportation.


 

 

Maryland House Environment and Transportation Committee

Carl Anderton (R)
Maryland House District 38B
Email: Carl.Anderton@house.state.md.us
Fax: (410) 946-5080

Kumar Barve (D)
Maryland House District 17
Email: kumar.barve@house.state.md.us
Fax: (410) 841-3509

Dana Stein (D)
Maryland House District 11
Email: dana.stein@house.state.md.us
Fax: (410) 841-3373

Andrew Cassilly (R)
Maryland House District 35B
Email: Andrew.Cassilly@house.state.md.us
Fax: (410) 946-5080

Robert Flanagan (R)
Maryland House District 09B
Email: Bob.Flanagan@house.state.md.us
Fax: (410) 841-3241

Pamela Beidle (D)
Maryland House District 32
Email: pamela.beidle@house.state.md.us
Fax: (410) 841-3347

Alfred Carr (D)
Maryland House District 18
Email: alfred.carr@house.state.md.us
Fax: (410) 841-3053

William Folden (R)
Maryland House District 03B
Email: William.Folden@house.state.md.us
Fax: (301) 858-5080

David Fraser-Hidalgo (D)
Maryland House District 15
Email: david.fraser.hidalgo@house.state.md.us
Fax: (410) 841-3112

Jay Jacobs (R)
Maryland House District 36
Email: jay.jacobs@house.state.md.us
Fax: (410) 841-3093

Barbara Frush (D)
Maryland House District 21
Email: barbara.frush@house.state.md.us
Fax: (410) 841-3116

Anthony O'Donnell (R)
Maryland House District 29C
Email: anthony.odonnell@house.state.md.us
Fax: (410) 841-3534

Jim Gilchrist (D)
Maryland House District 17
Email: jim.gilchrist@house.state.md.us
Fax: (410) 841-3057

Charles Otto (R)
Maryland House District 38A
Email: charles.otto@house.state.md.us
Fax: (410) 841-3463

Kathy Szeliga (R)
Maryland House District 07
Email: kathy.szeliga@house.state.md.us
Fax: (410) 841-3023

Anne Healey (D)
Maryland House District 22
Email: anne.healey@house.state.md.us
Fax: (410) 841-3223

Marvin Holmes (D)
Maryland House District 23B
Email: marvin.holmes@house.state.md.us
Fax: (410) 841-3017

Jay Jalisi (D)
Maryland House District 10
Email: Jay.Jalisi@house.state.md.us
Fax: (410) 841-3100

Tony Knotts (D)
Maryland House District 26
Email: Tony.Knotts@house.state.md.us
Fax: (410) 946-5080

Stephen Lafferty (D)
Maryland House District 42A
Email: stephen.lafferty@house.state.md.us
Fax: (410) 841-3501

Clarence Lam (D)
Maryland House District 12
Email: Clarence.Lam@house.state.md.us
Fax: (410) 946-5080

Cory McCray (D)
Maryland House District 45
Email: Cory.McCray@house.state.md.us
Fax: (410) 946-5080

A. Shane Robinson (D)
Maryland House District 39
Email: shane.robinson@house.state.md.us
Fax: (410) 841-3375

 

Back to Breaking News: 2016 Archives