Maryland Bill to Revise Historic Vehicle Registration Requirements Approved by House; Moves to Senate for Hearing on March 24, 2016

DON’T DELAY!  Please voice your opinion for H.B. 58 immediately from All Members of the Senate Judicial Proceedings Committee (Full List Below) by emailing now:


 

You may use the following points in your message:

  • H.B. 58 would now only subject historic vehicles of model year 1986 and later to equipment repair orders.  These repair orders would be issued only for vehicle safety equipment that is in disrepair and would require a subsequent inspection to determine that the repair had been effected.
     
  • H.B. 58 as amended does not subject historic vehicles of model year 1986 and later to undergo periodic inspections.
     
  • H.B. 58 would specifically prohibit the use of historic vehicles for employment, transportation to employment or school and for commercial purposes.
  • H.B. 58 still does not directly address the issue of owners using these limited-use vehicles as daily drivers. 

Overview: Legislation (H.B. 58) that originally appeared to subject historic vehicles of model year 1986 and later to undergo periodic safety inspections was amended and approved by the Maryland House.  The amended bill now specifically excludes historic vehicles from the requirement that they receive an inspection certificate prior to titling and registration.  However, the bill would still prohibit the use of historic vehicles for employment, transportation to employment or school and for commercial purposes.   The bill also subjects historic vehicles of model year 1986 and later to equipment repair orders.  The measure will be considered by the Senate Judicial Proceedings Committee on Thursday, March 24, 2016. 


 

 

Maryland Senate Committee on Judicial Proceedings 

Senator  Bobby A. Zirkin                  
bobby.zirkin@senate.state.md.us

Senator Lisa A. Gladden                  
lisa.gladden@senate.state.md.us


Senator James Brochin                      
jim.brochin@senate.state.md.us


Senator Robert Cassilly                    
Bob.Cassilly@senate.state.md.us


Senator  Michael J. Hough                 
michael.hough@senate.state.md.us


Senator Susan C. Lee            
susan.lee@senate.state.md.us


Senator C. Anthony Muse                
anthony.muse@senate.state.md.us


Senator Wayne Norman                    
wayne.norman@senate.state.md.us


Senator Victor R. Ramirez                
victor.ramirez@senate.state.md.us


Senator Jamie Raskin            
jamie.raskin@senate.state.md.us

 

Senator Justin Ready            
justin.ready@senate.state.md.us

 

Back to Breaking News: 2016 Archives