Maryland Bill to Provide Single License Plate for Historic Vehicles/Street Rods to be Considered on Jan. 28, 2014

Legislation (H.B. 77) to require the issuance of only a single license plate for Class L Historic Vehicles and Class N Street Rods will be considered by the House Environmental Matters Committee on Tuesday, January 28, 2014.  Currently, only Class D Motorcycles, Class F Tractors and Class G Trailers can run a single plate. 

If You Have Not Done So Already, We Urge You to Contact Members of the House Environmental Matters Committee (Contact Info Below) Immediately to Request Support for H.B. 77 

  • Under Maryland law, an historic vehicle includes a passenger vehicle, motorcycle, or truck that is at least 20 years old and has not been substantially altered from the manufacturer's original design.  Street rod is a motor vehicle that is 25 years old or older and has been substantially altered from the manufacturer's original design.
     
  • H.B. 77 would save money, conserve resources and bring Maryland in line with other states that have moved to a single plate requirement.
     
  • H.B. 77 would protect the aesthetic contours of collector cars and relieve vehicle owners of the burden of having to create mounting holes on some original bumpers. 

DON’T DELAY!  Please contact members of the Maryland House Environmental Matters Committee immediately by phone or e-mail to request their support for H.B. 77.    

Please e-mail a copy of your letter to Steve McDonald at stevem@sema.org.  Also, please forward this Alert to your fellow car enthusiasts.  Urge them to join the SAN and help defend the hobby! Thank you for your assistance. 

Maryland House Environmental Matters Committee

To e-mail all Committee members, copy and paste the email address block below:

maggie.mcintosh@house.state.md.us; james.malone@house.state.md.us; pamela.beidle@house.state.md.us; elizabeth.bobo@house.state.md.us; rudolph.cane@house.state.md.us; alfred.carr@house.state.md.us; david.fraser.hidalgo@house.state.md.us; barbara.frush@house.state.md.us; jim.gilchrist@house.state.md.us; anne.healey@house.state.md.us; patrick.hogan@house.state.md.us; marvin.holmes@house.state.md.us; jay.jacobs@house.state.md.us; stephen.lafferty@house.state.md.us; herb.mcmillan@house.state.md.us; doyle.niemann@house.state.md.us; wayne.norman@house.state.md.us; anthony.odonnell@house.state.md.us; charles.otto@house.state.md.us; shane.robinson@house.state.md.us; dana.stein@house.state.md.us; cathy.vitale@house.state.md.us; michael.weir@house.state.md.us; ct.wilson@house.state.md.us

 

Delegate Maggie McIntosh (Chair)
Phone: 410-841-3990
 
Delegate James E. Malone Jr. (Vice Chair)
Phone: 410-841-3378
 
Delegate Pamela Beidle
Phone: 410-841-3370
 
Delegate Elizabeth Bobo
Phone: 410-841-3205
 
Delegate Rudolph Cane
Phone: 410-841-3427
 
Delegate Alfred Carr Jr.
Phone: 301-858-3638
 
Delegate David Fraser-Hidalgo
Phone: 301-858-3186
 
Delegate Barbara Frush
Phone: 410-841-3114
 
Delegate Jim Gilchrist
Phone: 301-858-3744
 
Delegate Anne Healey
Phone: 301-858-3961
 
Delegate Patrick Hogan
Phone: 301-858-3240
 
Delegate Marvin Holmes Jr.
Phone: 301-858-3310
 
Delegate Jay Jacobs
Phone: 410-841-3449
 
Delegate Stephen Lafferty
Phone: 410-841-3487
 
Delegate Herb McMillan
Phone: 410-841-3211
 
Delegate Doyle Niemann
Phone: 301-858-3326
 
Delegate H. Wayne Norman Jr.
Phone: 410-841-3284
 
Delegate Anthony O’Donnell
Phone: 410-841-3314
 
Delegate Charles Otto
Phone: 301-858-3433
 
Delegate Shane Robinson
Phone: 301-858-3021
 
Delegate Dana Stein
Phone: 410-841-3527
 
Delegate Cathy Vitale
Phone: 410-841-3510
 
Delegate Michael Weir Jr.
Phone: 410-841-3328
 
Delegate C.T. Wilson
Phone: 410-841-3325

Back to Breaking News: 2014 Archives