Maryland Bill to Increase Age Requirement for Historic Vehicle Registration to be Considered on Thursday, March 12, 2015

 

Legislation (H.B. 811) to increase the age requirement for vehicles eligible for registration as “historic motor vehicles” in Maryland has been reintroduced.  Under the bill, the age requirement would be raised from 20 to at least 25 years old.  A hearing to consider the bill is scheduled for Thursday March 12, 2015 in the House Environment and Transportation Committee.  We understand that the hobbyist community in Maryland holds contrasting opinions on this issue.  The SEMA Action Network (SAN) has chosen to oppose this bill.

We Urge You to Contact Members of the Maryland House Environment and Transportation Committee (List Attached Below) Immediately to Voice Your Opinion on H.B. 811

  • H.B. 811 makes it more difficult to register legitimate historic vehicles, which are already limited to club activities, exhibitions, tours, parades and occasional pleasure driving.
     
  • H.B. 811 would deny vehicles 20-25 years old from certain benefits, including the special historic license plate and exemptions from equipment and emissions inspection requirements.
     
  • H.B. 811 would strip current historic vehicles 20-25 years old from that designation

DON’T DELAY!  Please contact members of the Maryland House Environment and Transportation Committee immediately by phone or e-mail to voice your opinion on H.B. 811.    

Please e-mail a copy of your letter to Steve McDonald at stevem@sema.org.  Also, please forward this Alert to your fellow car enthusiasts.  Urge them to join the SAN and help defend the hobby! Thank you for your assistance. 

Maryland House Environment and Transportation Committee

kumar.barve@house.state.md.us; dana.stein@house.state.md.us; Carl.Anderton@house.state.md.us; pamela.beidle@house.state.md.us; alfred.carr@house.state.md.us; Andrew.Cassilly@house.state.md.us; Bob.Flanagan@house.state.md.us; david.fraser.hidalgo@house.state.md.us; barbara.frush@house.state.md.us; jim.gilchrist@house.state.md.us; anne.healey@house.state.md.us; marvin.holmes@house.state.md.us; jay.jacobs@house.state.md.us; Tony.Knotts@house.state.md.us; stephen.lafferty@house.state.md.us; Clarence.Lam@house.state.md.us; Cory.McCray@house.state.md.us; anthony.odonnell@house.state.md.us; charles.otto@house.state.md.us; shane.robinson@house.state.md.us; kathy.szeliga@house.state.md.us; cathy.vitale@house.state.md.us

Delegate Kumar Barve (Chair)
Phone: 410-841-3990
Email: kumar.barve@house.state.md.us

Delegate Dana Stein (Vice-Chair)
Phone: 410-841-3527
Email: dana.stein@house.state.md.us

Delegate Carl Anderton Jr.
Phone: 410-841-3431
Email: Carl.Anderton@house.state.md.us

Delegate Pamela Beidle
Phone: 410-841-3370
Email: pamela.beidle@house.state.md.us

Delegate Alfred Carr Jr.
Phone: 410-841-3638
Email: alfred.carr@house.state.md.us

Delegate Andrew Cassilly
Phone: 410-841-3444
Email: Andrew.Cassilly@house.state.md.us

Delegate Robert Flanagan
Phone: 410-841-3077
Email: Bob.Flanagan@house.state.md.us

Delegate David Fraser-Hidalgo
Phone: 410-841-3186
Email: david.fraser.hidalgo@house.state.md.us

Delegate Barbara Frush
Phone: 410-841-3114
Email: barbara.frush@house.state.md.us

Delegate Jim Gilchrist
Phone: 410-841-3744
Email: jim.gilchrist@house.state.md.us

Delegate Anne Healey
Phone: 410-841-3961
Email: anne.healey@house.state.md.us

Delegate Marvin Holmes Jr.
Phone: 410-841-3310
Email: marvin.holmes@house.state.md.us

Delegate Jay Jacobs
Phone: 410-841-3449
Email: jay.jacobs@house.state.md.us

Delegate Tony Knotts
Phone: 410-841-3212
Email: Tony.Knotts@house.state.md.us

Delegate Stephen Lafferty
Phone: 410-841-3487
Email: stephen.lafferty@house.state.md.us

Delegate Clarence Lam
Phone: 410-841-3205
Email: Clarence.Lam@house.state.md.us

Delegate Cory McCray
Phone: 410-841-3486
Email: Cory.McCray@house.state.md.us

Delegate Anthony O’Donnell
Phone: 410-841-3314
Email: anthony.odonnell@house.state.md.us

Delegate Charles Otto
Phone: 410-841-3433
Email: charles.otto@house.state.md.us

Delegate Shane Robinson
Phone: 410-841-3021
Email: shane.robinson@house.state.md.us

Delegate Kathy Szeliga
Phone: 410-841-3698
Email: kathy.szeliga@house.state.md.us

Delegate Cathy Vitale
Phone: 410-841-3510
Email: cathy.vitale@house.state.md.us

 

Back to Breaking News: 2015 Archives