Amended Maryland Bill to Allow Single License Plate for Certain Historic Cars Approved by House; Moves to Senate

URGENT LEGISLATIVE ALERT (UPDATE)
 

Amended Maryland Bill to Allow Single License Plate for Certain Historic Cars Approved by House; Moves to Senate

Amended House legislation (H.B. 524) to require the issuance of only a single license plate for historic vehicles and street rods was approved by the full Maryland House of Delegates.  The bill now moves to the Senate Judicial Proceedings Committee for consideration.  Under the amendment, the single plate option would be available only to owners of Class L (historic vehicles) that are 60 years old and older.  The bill no longer affords this option to Class N (street rods) or later model historics.  While this is not the bill we wanted, we believe it is still worthy of your support.

We Urge You to Contact All Members of the Senate Judicial Proceedings Committee (Info Below) Immediately to Request Support for H.B. 524

  • While the amended H.B. 524 is a heavily diluted version of the original bill, it is still an improvement over current law.
     
  • H.B. 524 would save money, conserve resources and bring Maryland in line with other states that are moving to a single plate requirement for certain cars.
     
  • H.B. 524 would protect the aesthetic contours of some collector cars and relieve vehicle owners of the burden of having to create mounting holes on some original bumpers.

DON’T DELAY!  Please contact members of the Maryland Senate Judicial Proceedings Committee immediately by phone or e-mail to request their support for H.B. 524.    

Please e-mail a copy of your letter to Steve McDonald at stevem@sema.org.  Also, please forward this Alert to your fellow car enthusiasts.  Urge them to join the SAN and help defend the hobby! Thank you for your assistance. 

Maryland Senate Judicial Proceedings Committee

To e-mail all Committee members, copy and paste the email address block below:

bobby.zirkin@senate.state.md.us; lisa.gladden@senate.state.md.us; jim.brochin@senate.state.md.us; Bob.Cassilly@senate.state.md.us; michael.hough@senate.state.md.us; susan.lee@senate.state.md.us; anthony.muse@senate.state.md.us; wayne.norman@senate.state.md.us; victor.ramirez@senate.state.md.us; jamie.raskin@senate.state.md.us; justin.ready@senate.state.md.us

Senator Bobby Zirkin (Chair)
Phone: 410-841-3131
Email: bobby.zirkin@senate.state.md.us

Senator Lisa Gladden (Vice-Chair)
Phone: 410-841-3697
Email: lisa.gladden@senate.state.md.us

Senator James Brochin
Phone: 410-841-3648
Email: jim.brochin@senate.state.md.us

Senator Robert Cassilly
Phone: 410-841-3158
Email: Bob.Cassilly@senate.state.md.us

Senator Michael Hough
Phone: 410-841-3704
Email: michael.hough@senate.state.md.us

Senator Susan Lee
Phone: 410-841-3124
Email: susan.lee@senate.state.md.us

Senator Anthony Muse
Phone: 410-841-3092
Email: anthony.muse@senate.state.md.us

Senator Wayne Norman
Phone: 410-841-3603
Email: wayne.norman@senate.state.md.us

Senator Victor Ramirez
Phone: 410-841-3745
Email: victor.ramirez@senate.state.md.us

Senator Jamie Raskin
Phone: 410-841-3634
Email: jamie.raskin@senate.state.md.us

Senator Justin Ready
Phone: 410-841-3683
Email: justin.ready@senate.state.md.us

 

Back to Breaking News: 2015 Archives