Maine Bill to Prohibit Ethanol Blended Gasoline to be Considered on Thursday, March 26, 2015

URGENT LEGISLATIVE ALERT
 

Maine Bill to Prohibit Ethanol Blended Gasoline to be Considered on Thursday, March 26, 2015

In 2013, SAN-supported legislation to prohibit the sale and distribution of corn-based ethanol in Maine was signed into law.  Under the new law, 10 other states or a number of states with a collective population of 30,000,000 would have to enact a similar prohibition before the Maine law could go into effect.  This year, legislation (L.D. 602) has been introduced to amend the law to provide that this prohibition would take effect if only 3 other states have enacted laws that prohibit the sale of motor fuel containing corn-based ethanol.  L.D. 602 will be considered by the Joint Environment and Natural Resources Committee on Thursday, March 26, 2015.

If You Have Not Done So Already, We Urge You to Contact Members of the Joint Environment and Natural Resources Committee (Contact Info Below) Immediately to Request Support for LD 602

  • LD 602 recognizes that ethanol increases water formation which can then corrode metals, plastics and rubber, especially over a period of time when the vehicle is not used.  Current high performance specialty parts along with pre-model year 2001 cars and parts may be most susceptible to corrosion.
     
  • LD 602 recognizes that the life span of vehicles and equipment can be dramatically reduced with the wrong fuel and that owners could be confronted with break downs. Anti-corrosion additives are available for each purchase of gasoline but can become expensive, burdensome and require consumer education.   
     
  • LD 602 recognizes that there has been an inability to obtain unblended gasoline for engines that may be damaged by ethanol.
     
  • LD 602 would not take effect until at least3 other states have enacted laws that prohibit the sale of motor fuel containing corn-based ethanol.

DON’T DELAY!  Please contact members of the Maine Joint Environment and Natural Resources Committee by phone or e-mail to request their support for L.D 602.

Please e-mail a copy of your letters to Steve McDonald at stevem@sema.org.  Also, please forward this Alert to your fellow car enthusiasts.  Urge them to join the SAN and help defend the hobby! Thank you for your assistance. 

Maine Joint Environment and Natural Resources Committee

To e-mail all Committee members, copy and paste the email address block below:

Thomas.Saviello@legislature.maine.gov; Joan.Welsh@legislature.maine.gov; Eric.Brakey@legislature.maine.gov; Cathy.Breen@legislature.maine.gov; Andrew.Buckland@legislature.maine.gov; Richard.Campbell@legislature.maine.gov; Benjamin.Chipman@legislature.maine.gov; Robert.Duchesne@legislature.maine.gov; Jeff.Hanley@legislature.maine.gov; Denise.Harlow@legislature.maine.gov; John.Martin@legislature.maine.gov; Ralph.Tucker@legislature.maine.gov; Dustin.White@legislature.maine.gov

Senator Thomas Saviello (Chair)
Phone: 207-645-3420
Email: Thomas.Saviello@legislature.maine.gov

Representative Joan Welsh (Chair)
Phone: 207-236-6554
Email: Joan.Welsh@legislature.maine.gov

Senator Eric Brakey
Phone: 207-287-1505
Email: Eric.Brakey@legislature.maine.gov

Senator Catherine Breen
Phone: 207-287-1515
Email: Cathy.Breen@legislature.maine.gov

Representative Andrew Buckland
Phone: 207-779-0587
Email: Andrew.Buckland@legislature.maine.gov

Representative Richard Campbell
Phone: 207-989-6055
Email: Richard.Campbell@legislature.maine.gov

Representative Benjamin Chipman
Phone: 207-318-4961
Email: Benjamin.Chipman@legislature.maine.gov

Representative Robert Duchesne
Phone: 207-827-3782
Email: Robert.Duchesne@legislature.maine.gov

Representative Jeffery Hanley
Phone: 207-582-1524
Email: Jeff.Hanley@legislature.maine.gov

Representative Denise Harlow
Phone: 207-409-0870
Email: Denise.Harlow@legislature.maine.gov

Representative John Martin
Phone: 207-444-5556
Email: John.Martin@legislature.maine.gov

Representative Ralph Tucker
Phone: 207-725-7639
Email: Ralph.Tucker@legislature.maine.gov

Representative Dustin White
Phone: 207-227-8756
Email: Dustin.White@legislature.maine.gov

 

Back to Breaking News: 2015 Archives