Kentucky Introduces Bill to Assess Motor Vehicles for Property Tax

Legislation (H.B. 94/H.B. 143) has been introduced in Kentucky to change the valuation procedure on vehicles registered in the state for purposes of the property tax.  The bill would value “newer vehicles” at the higher "clean trade-in" value instead of the lower "average trade-in" value at which they are currently assessed.  The "clean trade-in" value is used when a vehicle is in excellent condition and not in need of repairs.    

The bill would also put a new valuation procedure in place for older vehicles.  Vehicles 20 years old or older would no longer be presumed to be in "original factory" or "classic" condition.   Original factory and classic vehicles are assessed as high-value collectibles.  The measure instead provides three options for assessing the value of these vehicles: (1) the owner may appear before the property valuation administrator to request a special assessment; (2) if the vehicle was registered in Kentucky in its 19th year, it will be assessed at the value it was assessed at in its 19th year and that value will be reduced by 10% for each year after its 19th year; and (3) if the vehicle was not registered in Kentucky in its 19th year, it will be valued according to its "clean trade-in value" in its 19th year, which would be reduced by 10% for each year after the vehicle's 19th year.  The bill preserves the tax assessor's ability to deviate from this valuation formula if information is available to warrant such a deviation from standard value. 

Both bills can be viewed in their entirety at:

http://www.lrc.ky.gov/record/14RS/HB94.htm

http://www.lrc.ky.gov/record/14RS/HB143.htm

We Urge You to Contact Members of the Kentucky House Transportation (List Attached) Immediately To Voice Your Opinion on H.B. 94 and H.B. 143

Please e-mail a copy of your letter to Steve McDonald at stevem@sema.org.  Also, please forward this Alert to your fellow car enthusiasts.  Urge them to join the SAN and help defend the hobby! Thank you for your assistance. 

Kentucky House Transportation Committee

To e-mail all Committee members, copy and paste the email address block below:

hubert.collins@lrc.ky.gov; Leslie.Combs@lrc.ky.gov; Charlie.Miller@lrc.ky.gov; Marie.Rader@lrc.ky.gov; diane.st.onge@lrc.ky.gov; Kevin.Bratcher@lrc.ky.gov; Denver.butler@lrc.ky.gov; tim.couch@lrc.ky.gov; will.coursey@lrc.ky.gov; Jim.DeCesare@lrc.ky.gov; david.floyd@lrc.ky.gov; Keith.Hall@lrc.ky.gov; Richard.Henderson@lrc.ky.gov; Toby.herald@lrc.ky.gov; kenny.imes@lrc.ky.gov; Jimmie.Lee@lrc.ky.gov; donna.mayfield@lrc.ky.gov; Terry.Mills@lrc.ky.gov; Rick.Nelson@lrc.ky.gov; tanya.pullin@lrc.ky.gov; steve.riggs@lrc.ky.gov; Sal.Santoro@lrc.ky.gov; john.short@lrc.ky.gov; Arnold.Simpson@lrc.ky.gov; johnwill.stacy@lrc.ky.gov; fitz.steele@lrc.ky.gov; Jim.Stewart@lrc.ky.gov; Tommy.Turner@lrc.ky.gov; David.Watkins@lrc.ky.gov; addia.wuchner@lrc.ky.gov

Representative Hubert Collins (Chair)
Phone: (502) 564-8100 Ext. 654
 
Representative Leslie Combs (Vice Chair)
Phone: (502) 564-8100 Ext. 669
 
Representative Charles Miller (Vice Chair)
Phone: (502) 564-8100 Ext. 631 
 
Representative Marie Rader (Vice Chair)
Phone: (502) 564-8100 Ext. 720
 
Representative Diane St. Onge (Vice Chair)
Phone: (502) 564-8100 Ext. 701
 
Representative Kevin D. Bratcher
Phone: (502) 564-8100 Ext. 680 
 
Representative Denver Butler
Phone: (502) 564-8100 Ext. 670
 
Representative Tim Couch
Phone: (502) 564-8100 Ext. 632
 
Representative Will Coursey
Phone: (502) 564-8100 Ext. 659 
 
Representative Jim DeCesare
Phone: (502) 564-8100 Ext. 660
 
Representative David Floyd
Phone: (502) 564-8100 Ext. 664
 
Representative Keith Hall
Phone: (502) 564-8100 Ext. 635
 
Representative Richard Henderson
Phone: (502) 564-8100 Ext. 642 
 
Representative Toby Herald
Phone: (502) 564-8100 Ext. 641
 
Representative Kenny Imes
Phone: (502) 564-8100 Ext. 611
 
Representative Jimmie Lee
Phone: (502) 564-8100 Ext. 650
 
Representative Donna Mayfield
Phone: (502) 564-8100 Ext. 630 
 
Representative Terry Mills
Phone: (502) 564-8100 Ext. 684
 
Representative Rick G. Nelson
Phone: (502) 564-8100 Ext. 612 
 
Representative Tanya Pullin
Phone: (502) 564-8100 Ext. 678
 
Representative Steve Riggs
Phone: (502) 564-8100 Ext. 674
 
Representative Sal Santoro
Phone: (502) 564-8100 Ext. 691
 
Representative John Short
Phone: (502) 564-8100 Ext. 668
 
Representative Arnold Simpson
Phone: (502) 564-8100 Ext. 695 
 
Representative John Will Stacy
Phone: (502) 564-8100 Ext. 693
 
Representative Fitz Steele
Phone: (502) 564-8100 Ext. 697 
 
Representative Jim Stewart III
Phone: (502) 564-8100 Ext. 690 
 
Representative Tommy Turner
Phone: (502) 564-8100 Ext. 716 
 
Representative David Watkins
Phone: (502) 564-8100 Ext. 700
 
Representative Addia Wuchner
Phone: (502) 564-8100 Ext. 707 

Back to Breaking News: 2014 Archives